Getting 2G Iphone to work with Non-iPhone AT&T SIM

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pup975, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. pup975 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    Basic question, but I wanted to make sure before I did this:

    My wife has upgraded her old iPhone to the 3G iPhone. I was wanting to hack the iPhone so I can use my company AT&T (non-iPhone) cellphone SIM with her old iPhone. I'm not really that interested in hacking the phone to use other applications.

    If I just use the PwnageTool, will that unlock the old iPhone so I can use it with a non-iPhone activated AT&T SIM?
    Is there a better way to do this besides using Pwnage?
     
  2. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #2
    Just put the SIM in the phone and call AT&T so they can associate the SIM with the IMEI No. of the iPhone. You shouldn't need to unlock it unless its a Pay&Go Phone.
     
  3. pup975 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. The problem with this is that since it's a company phone, I don't have any authorization on this account.
     
  4. Knolly macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #4
    If you don't want to hack the phone beyond unlocking, use Pwnage to unlock it and it should work great with a non-iPhone SIM.
     
  5. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #5
    +1, I did the same thing with my original iPhone when I had it.
     
  6. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #6
    Pwnage is the way to go (actually the only way to go now), its good for mac and pc as the above poster stated.
     
  7. flu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #7
    So, I had this goal as well. I had a 2g iPhone on 2.0.

    I went here: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1572

    And followed the instructions. I deselected activate the phone through pwnage and let iTunes do it with my AT&T card I am on. The phone rebooted, and I restored my phone with the normal restore button in iTunes. After a long restore I was set. In the end I had all my apps and such from before along with the bootnueter application. I chose to have it set to nuetered and unlocked and it was already set to 3.9 (I can't remember if it was already set this way for all the settings, or if I had to reflash it to get the unlock turned on). Anyway, at the end of all this it rebooted and was set to 3.9 with nuetered and unlocked defaulted to on.

    So here is my question. I put a tmobile card in and it told me that it couldn't recognize the sim and needed me to connect the phone to itunes (Which I didn't do - I assumed that connecting to iTunes would try and activate the sim through AT&T and throw red flags).

    My question is what am I doing wrong? Is there some trick to getting it to see the tmobile sim? I assumed when it said it was unlocked in Bootneuter that it could use other GSM sims...


    Thanks for any advice - heading to Europe tomorrow and want to have this unlocked if possible.

    (as an aside, I tried to use boot nueter to switch it to the 4.6 baseband - thinking that might help with seeing the tmobile sim - and it flashed the firmware and then said the flash was successful, but there was a problem. I think something like a potential conflict with the comm software. I restarted the iPhone and bam! wouldn't get past the white apple and spinner page. I went into DFU and tried to reset the ipsw and got the 1604 error - tried a bunch of stuff, fearing I'd bricked the phone - finally doing this: http://hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=47610 - **which worked**. Starting over now to get back where I was before trying to move to the 4.6 baseline.)
     
  8. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #8
    It's better to unlock your phone, since AT&T requires to renew two year contract on the first gen phone...

    www.winpwn.com if you have Windows, pretty easy to follow and then just use bootneuter and you're set.
     
  9. flu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #9
    So this is what I did - worked great, activated with my current AT&T sim in iTunes, unlocked and jailbroken.

    Then I tried to put in the tmobile sim and it didn't work - said I needed to connect the phone to iTunes - which I didn't do, since I assumed that it would make a call to AT&T and recognize I wasn't using their sim.

    My question is this - is there some special trick to getting a tmobile sim to work, assuming you are jailbroken and unlocked - and activated via your original AT&T sim?
     
  10. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #10
    You used pwnage tool? And why did you activate with the original AT&T SIM card if you were planning to use T-Mobile?
     
  11. flu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #11
    I plan to use AT&T in the states. I am traveling to Europe for three weeks though and want to be able to use any sim there. To test I happened to have a tmobile sim at home, so I was using that to see if it worked. I believe the tmobile sim is good - just a pay as you go sim.

    So, I activated through iTunes on AT&T, but I want to be able to swap out sims internationally when traveling.

    (oh - and yes - I used the pwnage tool)
     
  12. flu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #12
    So to interpret some from the comments above - would one instead run the restore from DFU on an ipsw file that had the activate option turned off and then activate the T-mobile sim with that? Do you have to redo this every time you want to use a different carrier? That seems like a pain and not really "unlocked"...
     
  13. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #13
    Technically you should run bootneuter and all the sim cards should work...

    I haven't actually had a chance to insert a t-mobile sim card to see if it works or not.
     
  14. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #14
    Just do a full unlock/jailbreak from scratch as if you didn't have AT&T. This will allow you to use both cards with no problems. You won't have to re-pwn to switch cards out.
     
  15. RawMean macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #15
    I have the exact same situation: have an ATT non-iphone sim, company phone, don't want to unlock the iphone. Is there a solution that does not involve unlocking the iphone? I just called ATT and they said it's doable, but they are usually clueless and I bet if I call them again someone else will say I cannot do it.
    when I insert the non-iphone ATT card in the 2G iphone, it instructs me to active it by connecting it to iTunes, but I'm not sure if it'd be a good idea to active it through iTunes because then who knows what ATT will do will my bill (which goes to the company that I work for).

    Any help is much appreciated.
     
  16. Nyk0n macrumors regular

    Nyk0n

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    #16

    really your best option is only two ways:

    Buy and use Turbo Sim (hard to come by at the moment) or the

    winpwn/pwnage tool which will unlock and activate the phone so you can hot swap your SIM cards dont worry about breaking the phone it is super easy to use. and if you ever want to restore to a locked to AT&T state simply do a legit restore through iTunes to get back to locked AT&T status

    info how how to use the the pwnage tool can be found here
     
  17. jonbonjohnny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #17
    I just did this and it works great. I unlocked with winpwn so now I switch between tmobile and At&t just by switching out the sim cards.
     

Share This Page