Getting a MacBook in America -questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by GoneDrinkin, Jul 18, 2014.

1. GoneDrinkin macrumors regular

I've a relation going to San Francisco next week, and I'm thinking of asking her to pick me up a mid-range 13" retina.

I'm wondering what is the best course of action.

-I'm an Irish college student, so I'm wondering if I can avail of the education discount.

-Where's the best place to pick it up? Apple Store or Best Buy, etc, for the best deal.

-I know I'll get an American charger with it, but can I get an international or UK keyboard instead of a US one?

I think that's everything to think of. Anything else to consider would be appreciated.

2. Sifinity macrumors 6502

Sifinity

you can get a UK keyboard but you would have to order it from online , they also have education discount for people in the UK .

3. GoneDrinkin thread starter macrumors regular

That's not a problem. I've a cousin living there and I could send it to them, and my aunt could courier it back to me. I know there's an education discount from the Irish store, but it's so much cheaper to get the laptop from America, even without the discount. Is my European education discount still viable in the US education store?

4. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Have you included sales tax, which is not included, in your calculation?

5. GoneDrinkin thread starter macrumors regular

Yes, and it's still much cheaper.

I was hoping to order on a day where there is reduced or no tax. Not sure if it applies online, but if it is such a thing in San Fran, I might ask her to pick it up in an Apple Store.

Is an American rMBP exactly the same as a European model, or does it run at a different voltage? Just to be sure.

6. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

Are you also calculating the cost of duty to bring in into Ireland? Or are you expecting your relative to lie to customs and not declare it? Are you prepared to pay for any fines, etc if they were to be caught?