Getting a MacBook Pro soon, want to save some data from my broken iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Alvi, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. Alvi macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #1
    Hi everyone, I'm planning to get a MacBook Pro and i want to know how could i get some data out of my broken iMac which had a graphics card failure which just made the whole reparation process really expansive so i decided to better get a new mac.
    Is there a way to read the data from a PC?
    Would i have to get a hard drive enclosure?
    Or some sort of Fire Wire/USB -> SATA Cable?
     
  2. sniggles macrumors newbie

    sniggles

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    berlin
    #2
    try the slave mode...

    Hi Alvi, I don't know if it's also available for iMac, but Macbooks are able to go into a slave mode, when they are connected with another mac via firewire. If you have bought your macbook connect it via firewire to the iMac and try holding the "T"-Key while booting your iMac. If it's working, the iMac HD should be mounted on your Macbook like an extern HD.
     
  3. Alvi thread starter macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #3
    Thanks a lot! :) I'll try it once i get the MacBook, i hope it will work, if not i will have to do it the bad way and open the thing, get the HD out and buy a case to connect it to my computer... at least i would have a new hard drive i could use as time machine or something after i transfer the data :D
     
  4. mscriv macrumors 601

    mscriv

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #4
    It's called Target Disk Mode and it's available on any mac with a firewire connection. There is no restriction on the iMac and I have used this mode it past to transfer data from on old iMac to a new one. If your iMac will boot up then using this method should give you access to the drive.
     
  5. Sythas macrumors 6502a

    Sythas

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    #5
    When my white imac had a graphic card failure I've used the Target mode with a firewire cable and it work whitout a problem. BTW with my broken imac I have plug a second display to it and it works flawlessly... it's just the connection to the main display that is broken for me
     
  6. Alvi thread starter macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #6
    That means that it's more like a display failure, i tried to connect an external display and nothing...
     

Share This Page