Getting a Macbook Pro

lwightman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 30, 2018
I start a new job Monday with a new Macbook Pro. This is my first time using a mac so I'll have a learning curve. I was asked what kind of keyboard and mouse I want and I've no idea. I usually use Logitech keyboards and mouse with a USB receiver. I'm not sure how keyboard how things would work with only Thunderbolt 3 ports.
Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks.

chabig

macrumors 604
Sep 6, 2002
The MacBook Pro already comes with a keyboard and trackpad. You don’t need any external devices. If you want an external keyboard, just get whatever they offer and you like. It makes no difference what you use. All USB keyboards work fine. As for the mouse, my recommendation is to forget about it and experience the joy of trackpad gestures. If you insist, again...get whatever makes you happy.

jerryk

macrumors 603
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area
I start a new job Monday with a new Macbook Pro. This is my first time using a mac so I'll have a learning curve. I was asked what kind of keyboard and mouse I want and I've no idea. I usually use Logitech keyboards and mouse with a USB receiver. I'm not sure how keyboard how things would work with only Thunderbolt 3 ports.
Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks.
Just get a USB C hub with standard USB A ports. Just a few bucks. Leave it wherever you park the external keyboard, monitor, mouse setup. Plug in and you are ready to go with your familiar peripherals. Have fun.

t.portis

macrumors member
Jul 2, 2013
Annapolis, MD
Just get a USB C hub with standard USB A ports. Just a few bucks. Leave it wherever you park the external keyboard, monitor, mouse setup. Plug in and you are ready to go with your familiar peripherals. Have fun.
I used Apple's external keyboard and trackpad at home and work and really like them.

Clix Pix

macrumors demi-goddess