Getting a new 21.5" iMac next week. About the power cord..

Discussion in 'iMac' started by WiseDuck, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. WiseDuck macrumors member

    WiseDuck

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #1
    I'm just going to go ahead and assume that iMacs can take the regular power cords used by most computers nowadays. I'm importing an iMac from England and they have different plugs. I live in Sweden.

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/999968/IMG_1409.png

    Will that work? It looks like it will. Or is the socket on the iMac too deep for this particular cable?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You should always use the cable(s) that come with your Mac. You can buy power cord that works in Sweden from Apple
     
  3. WiseDuck thread starter macrumors member

    WiseDuck

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #3
    Wish I could, but I assume they're going to be expensive. If this cable I got for $5 works then I don't see why it's a problem. Hrm, I tried to look for an original cable, but the store is being updated. HMMM.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    I'm not saying it won't work but it's not recommended to use other than the original cables or cables that are specifically made for certain products. I doubt it's more than 200 kronor. One option is to get an adapter that allows you to use UK cable in Sweden socket
     
  5. WiseDuck thread starter macrumors member

    WiseDuck

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #5
    Im afraid thats a bit too much for just a cable though. And I did buy an adapter the other day but returned it when I realized that iMacs should be able to take the same cables as my current computer. The adapter cost me 229kr, which is a lot for a travel adapter. And the adapter did not take grounded cables, which is not good.
     
  6. at2wells macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Location:
    Zed Zed 9 Plural Zed Alpha
    #6

    It looks like the right connection, but the top of that plug your showing looks to be square shaped. The one on the iMac is round. It may work, but I have to wonder if you will have problems getting the plug to seat in far enough.
     
  7. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    your 's should work , and if it does not really fit deep enough ,cut a bit away , wont harm the plug there , the real apple plug is round at the top so it sits flush and makes a good impression thats all , but as i guess you rarly show people the back of your imac who cares what plug you use
     
  8. WiseDuck thread starter macrumors member

    WiseDuck

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #8
    Alrighty, sounds good! Thanks!

    I don't think that anyone will care if I use a different cable back there. It's not like I have friends who actually like Macs anyway. :rolleyes: Besides, it's a cable, all that matters to me is that I can actually use the thing.
     
  9. Heilage macrumors 68030

    Heilage

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #9
    Seriously, it's a standard power chord. The only Mac with a special one is a few of the latest G5s who had an enormous power usage.
     
  10. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    If I were you I'd use the power cable that is designed for that model iMac. If you use one that isn't designed for the computer (or came with the computer) it can void the warrenty:(

    Why can't you use the power cable that comes with the iMac?
     
  11. Insilin1i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #11
    It uses the same as any other computer, and no it won't void the warranty... How would apple even know you didn't use the official power cord.
     
  12. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #12
    power cords are normed , as is the voltage in each country and as uk and sweden have the same voltage they use the same powercords , only exeption is the wall pugs are different , the computers use a simple kettle lead nothing else , only apple let theirs design to match the hole in the case , like for example at the eMac too , so it sits flush on the case , that's the only difference its not a supercable ,the connectors are just norm connectors in the imac , and if it doesn't bother you that it does not sit flush then you can use a ordinary cable from a other computer or from a sandwich toaster as they are all the same norm
     
  13. Mrccartel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    columbia SC
    #13
    It will work, my friend brings his iMac over to my place all the time and he uses one of my regular power cords i have laying around.
     

Share This Page