Getting a new iMac for first mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by p2ranger, Nov 24, 2009.

1. p2ranger macrumors newbie

Looking to buy a new iMac on black friday. I'm still trying to decide which option to get.

It will be a family computer for my wife and I, someday for kids when we have them. My wife has a macbook she bought a year or so ago, one of the entry level white ones. She doesn't care much about tech, just check email, facebook, and look at photos, as long as it works. I'm a very heavy computer user. I've been nursing an old Dell Inspiron 5100 laptop for 6 years now. I'm sick and tired of tapping my fingers waiting for things to happen with it. I mostly do email, web surfing, some photo editing, some web design, and the old games that still run on my old machine (graphics turned to zero of course). Been a windows user since the days of DOS. I'm wanting to see what this Mac fascination is all about. Although I can't say I'm impressed so far with my experience of getting my wife's macbook to work with our linux home server (XP was much nicer to get working).

Been looking and reading about the new iMacs. They look great. I'm sure I'll be happy and blown away with what ever I get, compared to my current computer. I'm sure that a new computer for me will mean doing more than what I've been limited to with my current computer. I love to play games, but haven't been able to buy a new game in years because of my old laptop. I'm sure I'll buy something new now that I will have the capacity to run it. I'm sure I'll be getting either VM Fusion or Parallels to run my old PC stuff on it. Still not sure which of those to get.