Getting a replacement MBP... how does Time Machine work

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by notclosetofour, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. notclosetofour macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    Okay, so I actually know how Time Machine works and all. I have my backup all ready. There was a problem with my 2011 13" MBP so I need to get a replacement. My only question is will all my apps and everything be downloaded to my new computer and work off the backup? (MS Office, iStat menus, Parallels, Things, Spotify... etc) I know some of these apps have serial numbers that allow them to only work on one computer. Should I wipe the computer before I trade in for the replacement?
     
  2. notclosetofour thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
  3. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    Clone the HDD with CCC or SuperDuper and restore the clone to the new MBP.

    Or wipe the current MBP HDD and reinstall everything on the new machine. That simple.
     
  4. notclosetofour thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #4
    Isn't Time Machine a clone?
     
  5. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    It depends on the application. Some tie themselves to the hard disk (however besides when dealing with Microsoft and Adobe applications and this seems to be rare) most depend on receipts stored in your Library folders. Just restore your hard disk from your Time Machine backup (I've never done this so I'm not certain how it works) and all your files should be back in place. The only issue might be some corruption or as I said before applications tied to your hard drive.
     
  6. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #6
    you can either use a program on the mac called "migration assistant" to bring your data over, or you can reboot the computer while holding down command and then you will see the option to restore, and you can choose restore from time machine backup
     

Share This Page