Getting a Slingbox working with a wireless bridge

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by samiwas, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. samiwas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #1
    So a friend of mine just gave me his old Slingbox that he wasn't using any more, along with a Linksys WGA54G Wireless adapter.

    I have been able (after hours of trying) to get the computer to see the Slingbox and can even control my cable box using the remote, etc. However, I have not been able to get a video signal. It always just says "optimizing". This is within my own network. I haven't even tried it outside of the network yet.

    I hooked it up straight to my Apple Extreme, and everything worked right away with almost no setup. but when I try to go through the Linksys, I get the behavior described above. The Airport Extreme is not in a room with a cable box, so that won't work.

    Does anyone have a Slingbox running successfully using a wireless bridge to an Airport Extreme? This is what I have in all:
    - Airport Extreme Base Station in home office third floor
    - Airport Express in living room second floor acting as a repeater
    - Slingbox in media room first floor
    - Linksys WGA54G wireless bridge with Slingbox

    I am certainly willing to buy a different adapter if I know there is one that absolutely works. Or if you've had success with the above setup, what on earth did you do?!?

    Thanks for any help!!
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    Have you tried turning off the repeater? That may fix the problem (but decrease the signal strength).
     
  3. PittAir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #3
    Try using the Airport Express as the bridge from the base station. I have a Belkin Wireless Access Point and I use a wireless bridge to an Airport Express on the third floor of my home.
     
  4. samiwas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #4
    Update 5 minutes later....

    I logged onto a neighbor's wifi, and it works! It just doesn't work WITHIN my own network. How bizarre. Just need to track that down.
     
  5. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    As per my previous post, turn off the repeater.
     
  6. samiwas thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    Thanks for all the help. Oddly enough, I haven't changed anything, but suddenly everything seems to be working. I have logged into the slingbox both on and off my wireless network. At first, I had to use my WAN IP address to get it to work at all, not I am able to use the Slingbox ID. I guess suddenly finally tripped somewhere.

    Whatever, it works now, an I'm excited! :D
     

Share This Page