Getting a TAM on the network

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by tracyevans, May 19, 2013.

  1. tracyevans macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #1
    I just unboxed my TAM after about ten years of storage. I have not tried networking it yet. Anything special I need to know to get it on the network?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The easiest thing to do would be to get a PCI Ethernet card for it.
     
  3. tracyevans thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #3
    Installed.

    [​IMG]

    It has been some time since I have dealt with any pre-OSX systems, so I was skeptical that this was going to be easy. I guess I just need to dive in and see what happens.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You just need to connect that to a router with an active DHCP server and tell OS 7.6-9.1 to connect via Ethernet and have it use TCP/IP.
     
  5. tracyevans thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for the advice. I will give this a shot.
     
  6. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #6
    Mine runs this way and works fine, just browsers now are hit and miss with what they can handle, Apple's site works pretty good :)
     
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    Upgrade the RAM as high as you can get it.
    Get it up to Mac OS 9 if it's not there already.
    Install Classilla.
     
  8. rivettmj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #8
    I second the Classilla install, avoid the urge (nostalgia?) to install an crusty version of Netscape as well, it had a long standing file related bug with the cache folder eating file handles on the disk, requiring a trip to Norton Disk Doctor land to resolve. Not a big deal with one computer, but I had school labs filled with them!
     

Share This Page