getting a website to work with a wifi based server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by aicul, Feb 6, 2017.

  1. aicul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a fixed IP address and am trying to setup OSX server to run a website from a mac.

    My problem is that the MAC server is not directly connected to the router but is connected via Wifi, hence it has a different IP address (actually its an IP address of the local network).

    I've made that IP address fixed and told the router to channel 8080 port calls to that particular IP address.

    Buts, obviously, something is not working. Because both a domain name, or IP address based url call will yield failure.

    Any advice would be welcome.

    thanks
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Are you using a home account? I ask because most ISPs block home account to host web pages or online severs and going so could go against their policies!
     
  3. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #3
    Hi, I'm using a small business account at my ISP and that's why I have a fixed IP address - to be able to setup a website. So this is probably not the cause. thanks anyway
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
  5. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #5
    Just went the video; nope seems that I have it right; but still doesn't work. Plus this does not refer tin anyway to how the fixed IP is linked to the wifi based mac.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 6, 2017 ---
    Is there a way to reset all server setting to kill (or un install)?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 6, 2017 ---
    I'm actually going to go thru all these videos just to make sure the whole setup is ok.

    And for the uninstall I was violent; delete the server app and the server folder in library.

    Now a cup of tee and youtube..
     
  6. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #6
    Wifi or wireless should not matter, except for possibly performance. If you can access the website locally via the internal IP address, then you do not have your router configured to port forward properly.

    I also saw you were port forwarding 8080. So you want to make sure to append :8080 to the URLs.
     
  7. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #7
    Thanks for input but the issue is with the obtuse setup of DNS, setting on domain registrar, and so forth. Its just a silly pain and I can't get things to work using the domain name. However using the IP address I do get AFP to work.

    Anyone know what settings need to be placed in DIRECTNIC ?

    Sometimes the overly zero-documentation and everything is smooth and easy just is not reality. :-(
    --- Post Merged, Feb 7, 2017 ---
    Actually there are several video that nicely explain how to do things but do not demonstrate that they actually work. Sort of mitigated with their full use here. But the "uninstall" video is works for sure, the others... can't say that yet.
     
  8. aicul thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    no cars, only boats
    #8
    I have sort of got thru this; the issue was linked to the juggling between TC/ISP to set the DNS address at the correct moment otherwise the server.app sort of freezes for long periods.

    one point of particular attention; it is possible to set "allow user to []log in" to no in the Users section of the APP. Should you unintentionally set this to off for a local user, then try to login... you are off for some serious pain. Inclusive of entering the admin password many many times until you restart Server.app and set the login back to yes. I did this because I did not want my admin account to be able to login remotely, but it also applies locally generating simple caos in 10.10.
     

Share This Page