Getting a wireless signal on a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brainwave89, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. brainwave89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
    I have a 2.66GHz mac pro and will be moving it to a room that does not have a wired internet connection but does have wireless in the house. Other than getting a USB wireless adapter is there any way else so I can take advantage of the wireless signal to get online using my Mac Pro?
    Thanks.
     
  2. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #2
    Hi,

    Don't you have build-in AirPort Card? If not, you can order in at Apple Store and install it yourself.

    But first check the System Profiler.

    sash

    PS -- here is what you (most probably) need: http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APP...c_accessories/airport_wireless&nplm=M8881LL/A
     
  3. yeroen macrumors 6502a

    yeroen

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #3
    That won't work. Here's the paragraph:

    This AirPort Extreme Card is not compatible with the Mac Pro or the Power Mac G5 Dual and Power Mac G5 Quad computers introduced in October 2005. To add an AirPort Extreme card to one of these systems, please contact an Apple Retail Store or other Authorized Apple Service Provider.

    Apparently, Apple doesn't want you to install these yourself so you have to bring it to the Genius Bar or the like. I'm not sure why. Perhaps it's a delicate procedure?

    welovemacs.com
    sells this and other service parts retail (or rather at a large mark up), for those commited DIY'ers.
     
  4. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #4
    Not compatible means not compatible. They have other ways of doing it I guess.
     
  5. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #5
    Yes, I've read that. But what about Macs introduced in 2006, 2007, 2008? As we all know, lot's of parts are officially declared not-replaceable by the user, while you can perfectly do it yourself.

    Anyway, AirPort Extreme Card (selfinstalled or installed in a service centre) seems a better option than any other solution.

    sash
     
  6. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Yep...

    The last of the G5s and the Mac Pros don't have cards as much as they have chips. And they are a huge, huge pain to install. Plenty of sharp edges where they reside, I actually watched the Specialist cut himself while he tried to install it. Felt bad for him.

    Anyway, just take it in. Install is free and you'll be glad you didn't have to do it.
     
  7. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #7
    don't do it! :)

    You can order the Mac Pro with wireless when you buy it,but the module is a tiny circuit board and is difficult to install if you buy it later. It's also only available fro those after market places that you buy Mac Pro memory from as well.

    All that being said, this is a *bad* idea to put a machine as nice as a Mac Pro in a room without a wired connection.

    I have the latest Mac Pro, with wireless and bluetooth and the wireless reception is pretty damn poor indeed.

    My Mac Pro is sitting on the floor less than 3 feet away from my Time Machine router with nothing in between but a few sticks of wood (the legs of my desk and a little wooden shelf the TM sits on), and the signal is *rarely* very strong and is usually two or three bars. Worse, it fluctuates, so you never know when your connection is going to go limp on you.

    On top of that, with Apple computers in general, turning on the wireless, on a computer that also has a wired connection often leads to drop out and interference problems. If the network has an authentication set up, it can fail even more. I keep mine turned off even though I have it installed and at work we advise all our users to turn off Airport while they are wired. It just causes less problems and saves everyone a bit of grief.
     
  8. brainwave89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #8
    Thank you all.
    I am also disappointed about not having a wired connection. I'll check on the pricing of the AE Card.
    Does anyone have any suggestions on a usb wireless adapter that is compatible w/ Leopard?
    Thanks.
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
    Uh, appleretailguy, it took me about 30 seconds to install an AirPort Extreme card by myself. I bought it from CompUSA a few months before the company folded. It's really not that hard...

    So if you can find one, you can easily install it yourself. Try it. :)
     
  10. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #10
    I bought the WiFi card for my MacPro last Monday. Very easy to install. I simply screwed the card onto the board and fastened the two wires. Took less then ten minutes to do and works perfectly.

    Not sure where people get the idea that it is extremely hard to do, it isn't. Anyone can do it. MY Airport Extreme Base station is on the other side of the house and my Mac Pro picks up the signal perfectly.

    The cost was under $50 at the Apple Store.
     

Share This Page