Getting alot of dropped frame errors when capturing

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Rasheem, Dec 10, 2007.

  1. Rasheem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #1
    I find myself having to repeat capture in FCP because i'm getting dropped frames during capture. What can i do to prevent this? Why do the files disappear after a dropped frame occurs. for example:eek:ne minute left to capture in my last one hour tape and right then a dropped frame error pops up. This owould be no big deal since most of the tape had already been captured but i go to find the rest of the file and it does not exist...Also i dont think it's my machine because i have a 2.66 ghz mac pro with 5 gigs of ram.
     
  2. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #2
    Capture in iMovie HD ( not the newest version ), then export it as DV w/ 48KHz Audio. You may end up having to render the audio in FCP.

    For whatever reason Final Cut's capture routines are terrible. Of course iMovie can't do all the creative indexing and bins and so forth, but it is far less likely to drop frames.
     
  3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #3
    Those components don't really have much to do with it.

    How many hard drives do you have? Are you capturing to your system drive? Is your camera/deck plugged in or running off of a battery?
     
  4. Rasheem thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    #4
    The drive I'm capturing to is an internal 7200rpm. Camera is plugged in
     
  5. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #5
    Is the internal drive your system drive or a scratch/backup drive?
     
  6. Rasheem thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Dropped frame during capture typically is due to drive limitation. How full is your drive? What format is your source?

    If you are doing 1080p, you might need a raid.

    Also, with all harddrives, write speed decreases the fuller your drive is.
     

Share This Page