Getting an external microphone to work...?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Thunderbird8, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. Thunderbird8 macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I can't get my new mac pro to recognise either a headset with a mic attached, or a standard PC microphone, both under Leopard and Bootcamp/Vista.

    Any ideas? :confused:
     
  2. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  3. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #3
    What kind of mic/headset are you trying to connect? The MacPro has an audio line-in, which will work with signals like CD players and other line level inputs (from the manual: "Connect self-powered microphones, MP3 and CD players, and other devices with analog capability."). A passive microphone will not work. You need some kind of preamp if your mic is passive.
     
  4. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Most headset mics require power, and the Line input on modern Macs do not supply that power.

    You need something like Griffins iMic, it's cheap, easy to set up and works like a charm.

    I use it to power the etymotic in-ear headset..
     
  5. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks guys, I was trying it with a bog-standard mic.
     
  6. Thunderbird8 thread starter macrumors regular

    Thunderbird8

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just an addendum to this, do you know if the imic will work under Windows Vista?
     
  7. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    XianPalin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #7

Share This Page