Getting boarding passes into Passbook?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by creativedogmedia, Sep 22, 2014.

1. creativedogmedia macrumors 65816

creativedogmedia

Is it possible to add a boarding pass to Passbook (AA) AFTER I have checked in online? How?

2. akswun macrumors regular

akswun

Doesn't the app ask you to scan the boarding pass. I'm sure the airline gives you a .pdf of your boarding pass that has an accompanied barcode/QR code. I personally haven't used passbook but realized I should have after a 2 week trip to Europe.

3. hazeof3dd macrumors member

I have no experience with AA, but with UA, you can just go back and select check in again and there is an option when you get mobile boarding passes to add them to passbook.

4. creativedogmedia thread starter macrumors 65816

creativedogmedia

It does and I tried scanning it and it said "no pass available for this code."...doesnt make any sense.

5. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

The airlines I've used and it has been 4 over the last couple of months - work exactly that way - you check in and then they either send you email with link to boarding pass and that link allows you to add to passbook or directly from check in process - it shows you boarding pass online with "button" to add to passport.
    I think it works great. About one of the few things that are "easy" these days about flying.
    Most airlines seem to be able to read that boarding pass when you go to give them your luggage - others make you go through the whole checkin process again to do luggage - hope they get on the modern era soon.

6. creativedogmedia thread starter macrumors 65816

creativedogmedia

ok, the link that they sent brings up a page that shows the american logo on the left and the word boarding pass on the right but no actual boarding pass. The is a PDF attached to it but there are no prompts there either. I cleared history/cache in safari and that didnt help.

7. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

Kyotoma