Getting Clonezilla on USB to start on the MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by WildNZ, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. WildNZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi everyone, I've been struggling to get Clonezilla to start on my 2010 [I now have a 2011 also, same results] MBA.

    Specifically I download the i486 iso [I've also tried the x64 variant] from the Clonezilla website and then use Tuxboot [as per the Clonezilla website instructions] to create a 1GB bootable USB drive.

    Now the USB created will work fine on my PC, however on the MBA with refit installed, when I select the USB it will simply boot into a 'Grub' command prompt rather than the Clonezilla interface.

    I get the same results if I skip Tuxboot and use the manual USB install batch file that comes with Clonezilla.

    I've read a number of people on here have used Clonezilla on their MBA so I'd love to know your secret as I'm pulling my hair out here!

    I want to get Clonezilla working as I'm trying to find a way to take a complete image of my MBA hard drive including mac and Win7 partitions...

    Thanks a lot
     
  2. WildNZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
  3. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #4
    could you not just use carbon copy...or does it not work imaging hidden and win partitions also?
     
  4. WildNZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #5
    CCC will not clone NTFS partitions unfortunately... so not suitable for the task of providing a whole laptop image/backup, cheers.
     
  5. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    I'm on the same boat, but I am not confident on a Clonezilla restore on a new MBA. I tried one and failed, although I admit it may have been user error. :rolleyes:

    When I booted off the Clonezilla USB key, I had two choices - EFI or Windows. I chose Windows and that got me to the Clonezilla main menu.

    Reinstalling Windows in Bootcamp is so easy I am going to try using the built in backup and restore option. I backed up and created a system image using the built in tool. In case of disaster, I'll reinstall Win7 clean and then do a restore to get all my updates and apps back.

    On a related note Camptune from Paragon Software doesn't work on the new MBAs with Lion. I got an email from their tech support. It seems the drive partitioning scheme is different. Therefore, any of these cloning solutions will likely also need to be updated. I wish they made one like Acronis True Image that was Mac compatible.
     
  6. dthatcher7 macrumors newbie

    dthatcher7

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #7

Share This Page