iPhone Getting jailbroken 3GS with BaseBand 6.15 to work as normal with iOS 6.1.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mackey18, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. Mackey18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I made this account specifically to post this thread. Here is the story. I needed an iPhone 3GS for iOS development. I bought a second hand one. Evidently the previous user jailbroke it. Now I can't get it to activate or even detect if the sim is inserted or not. I did some searching and it seems that this issue occurs when you upgrade an iPhone with a baseband version of 6.15 to iOS 6. Now I have no idea about jailbreaking iPhones, all I want to do is get this phone working as normal. I have a sim card for the carrier that the phone was originally locked to, in case anyone was wondering.

    So I found this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?annota...&feature=iv&src_vid=k8xWrxSC64A&v=ZyTJqmsTXkE

    The only problem is, this guy ends up with a jailbroken phone... I don't want that. I just want the phone to work normally. Again, I'm clueless when it comes to jailbreaking so I'd appreciate it if someone could give me a step by step guid on how to achieve this fix.

    Thanks for the help,
    Mike
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    Download the latest version of redsn0w 0.09.14b3, I think. Connect your iPhone in normal mode and click jailbreak.

    Choose the downgrade iPad baseband option

    Follow the steps. After it is done. Go to settings -> general -> about. Your modem firmware should no longer be 6.15.00 but you'll have cydia on your 3GS. Now, just open iTunes and click restore

    After that, your 3GS will no longer be jailbroken and not on the iPad baseband anymore

    That's the gist of it but if you need even more explanation, I can do that if you request for it
     
  3. Mackey18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for getting back to me. I'm just trying your method now. I'll report back when it's completed (Which I fear may be a long time thanks to my painfully slow internet).

    Thanks again,
    Mike
     
  4. Mackey18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #4
    Waiting for reboot.

    Hi again, been doing what you said and it seems that RedSnow is stuck on "Waiting for reboot". Been saying that for a little while now, maybe 5-10 minutes. Just to clarify, the installed OS is currently iOS 6.1.3. I will leave it as it is until i hear back from you.

    Regards,
    Mike
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    The problem, neither Redsn0w nor Sn0wbreeze has been updated to make a No BB IPSW For 6.1.3
     
  6. patt2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    #6
    Well yes but you could suggest OP to use a 6.0 firmware so he can downgrade iPad baseband and then tell him to use redsn0w to install 6.1.2 (or via iTunes with editing hosts file)

    to OP. use 6.0 ipsw to downgrade firmware then upgrade to 6.1.2 if you want jailbreak.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    First, i gave the OP the answer to his specific question.
    I could have suggested what you suggested, but complete SHSH are required for unsigned firmware, but most everyone's iOS6 SHSH have incomplete apticket.

    @threadstarter, you can use iFaith to verify if your SHSH have complete apticket.
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    I posted this the other day but I'm not sure if the soft DFU mode problem will prevent it from properly dumping a blob or not. What's your thought on this?

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1568340
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    I have no personal experience with recovering from soft DFU, so I am very hesitant to make recommendations about how to "fix" it
     
  10. Mackey18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #10
    Ok then folks,

    Thanks for all the replies. A whole lot of jargon is being thrown around which means absolutely nothing to me. From what I can see, it looks like some of you have recommended downgrading to 6.0, is that right? Then it just becomes as simple as following the method in the first reply, yes?

    Thanks,
    Mike.
     
  11. Mackey18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #11
    I'm currently downloading the 6.0 ipsw from the video I linked to (It'll finish in 2.5 hours). I will then restore the iPhone into 6.0 using Xcode, and then I'll try the baseband downgrade method.
     
  12. Mackey18 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    #12
    Completed!

    Thanks for the help everyone, I fixed it using the method in the first reply and a point that someone else mentioned. For anyone else who is as nooby as me, here are the steps I took:

    - Downgrade to iOS 6.0, do this by downloading a 6.0 IPSW, then select it in redsn0w. (Extras -> Select IPSW).

    - Press jailbreak and select the Cydia option and the Downgrade Baseband option.

    - Follow instructions and let the iPhone do its thing.

    - Restore iPhone using iTunes to get the latest software on it... Done!

    Hope this helps,
    Mike
     

Share This Page