Getting Keyboard fixed - how to prepare MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by StuMcBill, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #1
    One of my keys on my Touchbar MacBook Pro has started sticking, so while Apple has its keyboard repair program going, I'm going to get it fixed / replaced on Thursday.

    Is there anything I should do to prepare my Mac? I was going to do a full SuperDuper! backup before. Anything else I should do?

    Thanks,
    Stewart
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    I would back the computer up and then wipe it, so your personal information will not be on the laptop. That's just me though
     
  3. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #3
    I was thinking about wiping it. Is doing a backup with SuperDuper enough (sparseimage)? I would like to be able to restore the image so my computer is exactly as it is now?

    Whats the best way to wipe it?
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Use disk utility to reformat it.
     
  5. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #5
    Cheers,

    And I'll be able to flash the image I make with SuperDuper to get it back to the way it is now?
     
  6. IngerMan macrumors 65816

    IngerMan

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    I would have at least 2 external disks with a backup. Myself I use Time machine external backups and Carbon Copy Cloner. I use both back up methods in case one fails. 2 separate cheap external drives.
     
  7. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #7
    I'm going to backup to an external drive and my NAS.
     
  8. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #8
    Ok, so I've got a .sparseimage on my external HDD and on my NAS. Can I just erase from Disk Utility, and be able to restore this image later?

    Thanks,
    Stewart
     
  9. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #9
    Ok, so I've backed up and wiped my MBP, but I'm at work, and not able to get onto the wifi to reinstall macOS.

    I'll just take it to the genius bar like this and see what they say!
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    "I was going to do a full SuperDuper! backup before. Anything else I should do?"

    That's EXACTLY what you should do.
    Nothing much else that you CAN do.
     
  11. _Kiki_ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2017
    #11
    usually easiest solutions are the best like for example Time Machine
     
  12. StuMcBill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #12
    Well, I wiped it, took it to the Genius bar, he disappeared with the laptop for 5 mins, and came back and had "cleaned" under the key (spraying with compressed air I guess). So there was really no need for me to wipe it at all!

    I tried to restore my SuperDuper image last night, and it tells me that it doesn't have any MacOS files in it.

    So I've just restored from new and am selectively restoring files from the image - probably good as it needed a clear out anyway.
     

Share This Page

11 October 29, 2018