Getting new MacBook Pro Retina vs. some other random laptop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macguin, Jul 4, 2012.

1. macguin macrumors newbie

So I'm a pretty diehard apple fanboy, ya know, iPhone, MacBook Pro, and stuff. My MacBook Pro is pretty old and I have the funds to get a new MacBook Pro Retina and I'm a bit weary.

I'm fairly versed in computer hardware and programming as well as UNIX. So when I saw a picture of the insides of the new MacBook and I saw that the RAM as well as the SSD was soldered to the motherboard, it upset me a bit. I'm a programmer so I'll constantly be compiling files and deleting files to test my programs and I'm worried that the SSD would fail fairly quickly and when it does my only choice is to buy a whole new MacBook.

So I was thinking about taking the money I was going to use for the new MacBook (> $3,000 + tax) and buying an ASUS laptop or an Alienware, something with really nice internals and a good HDD setup, maybe RAID or something because that would be a lot cheaper and a lot more configurable than the MacBook. I wouldn't run windows on the laptop, most likely Ubuntu. What do you guys think, should I give up configurability and fixability to maintain my Apple fandom, or should I get a most likely better and cheaper laptop and run Ubuntu on it

Attached Files:

2. leenak, Jul 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012

leenak macrumors 68020

Well the SSD isn't soldered and there is no way in your lifetime that you will out use the SSD. With larger ones, this just isn't an issue.

If you were going to look for alternative systems, I'd look at Asus, MSI and Sager.

And I forgot to add, but you could just by the regular MBP. Still a solid machine.

3. Apple... macrumors 68020

Apple...