getting o2 to put up 3g towers in your town?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Nicholas.C, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #1
    how would i go around getting o2 putting 3g and egde towers in my town?

    I get nothing but GPRS :(
     
  2. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #2
    if enough people in your village complain, petition it. You never know mate.

    If you're in a little village you have no chance.

    I presume it's all population density.
     
  3. mariokarter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #3
    i would start by figuring out a way to boost (fake) the population stats for your town that might help.
     
  4. Nicholas.C thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #4
    we're massive town, but we jsut have nothing.. can we call up o2?
     
  5. ryanwarsaw macrumors 68000

    ryanwarsaw

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #5
    I also only get GPRS and I am not that far from London. I knew that covereage could be spotty but they should tell you that you won't get 3G when they enter your post code in when you register. That way people know and can't complain.
     
  6. Nicholas.C thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #6
    since I wrote on this thread... I have noticed 1 bar of egde. o2 are putting egde in my area.
     
  7. fastbite macrumors 6502a

    fastbite

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Location:
    London
  8. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #8
    I'm in Dartford, near london. and I get a grand 3 bars of GPRS at the best of times.... :mad:
     
  9. Olleh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #9
    I live in Essex, right near the QE2 bridge (nearing Kent) and I have an excellent Edge connection.
     
  10. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #10
    Can I recommend going to your nearbyu O2 store if you have one - the manager, if they're friendly, should be able to show you the masts in your area - they have access to a superior form of mapping than the public web coverage system O2 provides. You can then see if there are planned masts in the area, and they are likely to know the way to get a request in for one (and also show you how to game the system by getting fellow O2 users to make a recommendation to get a 3G mast put in). It might be by density of population/number of O2 customers in area, simple thresholds (like broadband actiavtion/LLU (think along the lines of samknows.com a while back).
     
  11. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #11
    I live less than 10 miles from you, yet I dream of your EDGE coverage :p
     
  12. stelee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #12
    No edge here in my area of south east essex, :(

    But 5 bars on 3G is fine by me.. :D:D:D

    Jumping a speed gap,
    GPRS,.... shall we put edge here.... NAAA ..... 3G with 5 bars everywhere...


    Im going to check the roof o_O to see if they have put it next to the sky dish lol...
     
  13. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    I live in central London (zone 2) and I don't get 3G at home...
     
  14. modelbehaviour macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I think it's be more use if people said where they CAN get 3G rather than where they can't! Seriously, has anyone had it even once yet?! I was at Heathrow T5 yesterday and still had GPRS, and most I've ever had anywhere is edge.
     
  15. ditzy macrumors 68000

    ditzy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #15
    Got full bars on 3G right now and always have at home. (Birmingham England)
     
  16. stelee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #16
    Yup same here :apple::D
     

Share This Page