Getting on Wifi (need to enter Domain/Password)

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by LillieDesigns, Sep 21, 2007.

  1. LillieDesigns macrumors 6502

    LillieDesigns

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I have no problems entering my hex on my home network, but at school I need to enter a domain name (STUDENT) and a password. The only option that comes up simply says "password" - no where to enter the other info. How do I get online?

    I can;t go to my schools tech guy because he hates Macs and he'd especially hate an iPod.

    Thanks in advance.:apple:
     
  2. tm1000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #2
    You'd have to provide us with more information than what you have given. Perhaps with the school's name or system they are using?
     
  3. wizzracer macrumors 6502

    wizzracer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #3
    Click on settings-wifi-other

    You can enter Domain Name and password.
     
  4. LillieDesigns thread starter macrumors 6502

    LillieDesigns

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    It's my high school, I don't know what system we're on.

    I've talked to other students who have Macs and they said once your computer pics up the network "PrepWireless" (my iPod does that), you have to fill in the domain (Student/lastname.firstname) and my personal password for the school's network.

    When I hit "other" there is only a place for the domain and password, but no where to pick the network.
     
  5. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #5
    bump this, I have the same problem.. Steve said that we should be able to get college internet...why is this not working at my school?

    I also have to enter a User Name and password, but there is no place for my user name.

    Also every time you log into the wireless, you must "register" the computer. AKA my internet kicks you to a site, to enter your last name and student ID THEN you are able to access the internet.. Should I find this url, maybe that is why "safari cannot find the domain?"
     
  6. mburchna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #6
    Bump this thread! I am at Purdue and am having the same problem. The issue I found is that you need to be able to use VPN to get on, but for some reason Steve left it out of the Ipod Touch but has it in the IPhone! He said we could use this on college campuses, and it was probably one of the bigger selling points for me!

    My only hope is that apple will come out with an update for the Ipod Touch that adds VPN functionality. To my knowledge its only a software issue. So everyone keep this thread alive.
     
  7. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #7
    I am at IUP, and I think we use 802.11x I don't know, they don't tell us for a reason lol

    All I know is I am kind of mad about this, I mean this WAS in the keynote.. One of the reasons why I bought the new iPod touch, instead of an iphone and switching carriers and all kinds of expensive things.

    I am going to call/or try to chat with an apple expert tomorrw..Any other help would be awesome.

    EDIT - Yeah my internet is VPN, and this is kind of making me angry..
     
  8. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #8
    Well I just got off of the phone with a specialist.. and he basically told me that right now the touch does not support VPN, though the iPhone does.

    He did confirm that the problem could be fixed with a simple software update, and that it "seems logical" that they would add the functionality in the future.

    He was very nice about everything and he was an iPhone specialist, and seemed to know what he was talking about so I am a little disappointed, but the future looks pretty bright in getting VPN support soon. I would think about emailing apple about this, and requesting some information on WHEN we could get this seeing as how it WAS promised in the keynote by Steve himself.

    I am not totally disappointed, because I am broadcasting wireless via my iMac so I can get on in my dorm if I wanted, and there is a starbucks, so I am pretty sure I can get their internet without problems. However, I just wanted to be able to show off my iPod on campus..looks like I won't be showing the Safari awesomeness at least until the software update :(
     
  9. mburchna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #9
    Hey thanks for the update! That is very encouraging to hear! Does anyone know how we could e-mail apple with our request? I mean i expect if they got a lot of e-mails they would be more willing to add VPN support on the touch.
     
  10. Rhosfelt macrumors 65816

    Rhosfelt

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    I don't want to be raped :(
    #10
    Looks like we are going to have to wait for the next update before VPN :( :( I did request they add VPN via this link..

    The MORE PEOPLE DO TO THE SAME THE BETTER!

    Please just be nice about it, telling them you are disappointed that the iPhone has it, and you were promised to get internet on college campuses and VPN is one of the most popular types of networks on colleges now.
     
  11. chrismarks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #11
    I would love some VPN support. Hopefully that and adding to calandar support will be added next update. Becuase I live on campus so I spend 95% of my day in a VPN wifi zone which I cant use. Imagine the possibilty if VPN was supported!
     
  12. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #12
    Hopefully the email app is added at the same time as VPN.
     

Share This Page