Getting out of your current contract.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Matthew Yohe, May 25, 2007.

  1. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #1
    I will be making my attempt to get out of my Sprint contract this evening. Any tips?
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  3. neven macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    I heard that if you say you're moving to a place where your provider has no coverage, they "have to" let you out of the contract, fee-free. It sounds really baloney to me (why wouldn't everyone just say they're moving to the Galapagos?) Has anyone heard this?
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    You signed a contract that stipulates a penalty for early termination. Deal with it (the fee) or live up to your contract.
     
  5. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    Yes, it's true. But you need proof that you've moved, like a utility bill or something.


    You signed it. Deal with it. Stop trying to cheat companies and raising prices for the rest of us
     
  6. Matthew Yohe thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #6
    Well, my main problem is that I DID move a couple months ago, and my service throughout the city is fine, but my house is near a bluff that blocking signal. I do have many more issues with dropped calls in my house now that I have moved.

    Honestly if I wanted to "cheat" I could go to a sprint store, get a new phone with a contract etc... and return it within the 14 days of "trying out" the plan. That both end my previous obligation to the contract and also get me out of the one I just signed up for.
     
  7. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #7
    so tell them that you moved and your reception isn't good enough. see what they say.
     
  8. rdrr macrumors 6502a

    rdrr

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    Considering that my early termination fee almost breaks even with the amount of months I have left on my contract, I'll keep a second phone.

    That way if the iPhone has a gen 1 bugs, I have another option. :D
     
  9. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #9
    Then you can't transfer your number.
     
  10. buymeaniphone macrumors 6502

    buymeaniphone

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    #10
    you could always try using Cell Swapper. This way you can get out of your contract without having to pay any penalties.
     
  11. starcrossed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Location:
    San Antonio,TX
    #11
    i got out of my Sprint contract for free last weekend, by asking the rep if I could just move the remaining 1 year, and add it on to my mother's phone. Which he was more than okay with doing. But in my situation we had 3 phones including mine on one Sprint bill together, I think he looked at it as they'll lose me but they'll still have two other customers, so it wasn't a big deal. If you don't share a bill with someone else, they you might try and find a relative/or friend with Sprint and see if they would agree to take your remaining months and add to their contract. As far as I see that is the easiest way to get out of paying the high termination fee.
     
  12. rdrr macrumors 6502a

    rdrr

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    NH
    #12
    Not so important for me... To each their own I guess.
     
  13. himansk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #13
    just my good fortune that my current phone & service is provided & paid for by my employer, and i am leaving my job on june 14th, so looks like i will only have to wait for a week or two to get my hands on the iphone. :D
     
  14. island macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #14
    I told them I was going into the military when I quit with T-mobile a few years ago and they let me out without needing proof.
     
  15. Cormier6083 macrumors regular

    Cormier6083

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #15

    Hmm... military eh?
     
  16. DickArmAndHarT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    #16
    what if your contract has recently changed.

    i've been looking for ways to drop 2 of the 5 lines on my verizon wireless account. I recently noticed that text messaging rates increased from 10c to 15c when you don't have a plan. When i signed my 2 year contract it was for text messages at 10c not 15. This justifies as a change in contract and therefore they have to let me and the other line (the only other line that text messages) out of there contract free of charge. I've read a lot about this on the internet. The fee change for verizon happened in march. I know other providers have done similar switches.
     
  17. chatster18 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    #17
    Well if it becomes a problem, use grandcentral.com and link the two phones to ring on the old number and just dont give out the new number... just a thought
     
  18. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #18
    And then when the contract with the old number is up?
     
  19. mac-er macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    #20
    Oh, and just let corporate America screw us over.
    http://consumerist.com/search/sprint/all/

    It's survival of the fittest.
     

Share This Page