Getting ready for Leopard...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mthao00, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. mthao00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    #1
    I know this is kind of overdoing it... but I just purchased a Hitachi 200GB 16mb cache HD for my MBP. I've read and heard good things.

    I plan on swapping the drives and putting the "Tiger" drive in an external enclosure. Just wanted to share my anxiousness for Leopard. BTW, a clean install is what I'm doing. I don't mind reinstalling my applications and copying files.

    mT :apple:
     
  2. xpovos macrumors 6502a

    xpovos

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #2
    I'm equally anxious for Leopard, but I don't think Leopard's hard drive space requirements are going to be radically different from Tiger's, so I guess I don't really see the "connection".

    Even so, regardless of your reasons, congratulations on the HD purchase. I've been considering doing the same thing.
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Perhaps the OP is going to use the old drive as his TM drive while giving themselves more internal space.
     
  4. Fuzzy14 macrumors 65816

    Fuzzy14

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Renfrew, Scotland
    #4
    The guys over at this post are saying that leopard will need anything from 3 gigs to 9 gigs.

    I've just put Tiger on my G3 and that needed 3GB.

    I also bought an external 120 gig iomega hard drive... and filled it in a matter of days! I've also had to dump stuff on my 30 GB iPod and 80 GB iPod (painfully slow!)

    Data expands to fill the size of disc available. Probably a misquote!
     
  5. mthao00 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    #5
    Purchasing the 200GB drive was more about performance than storage space. The 120GB drive I have now would of been fine. The 9GB's for Leopard is really no big deal.

    I figured that a bump in HD performance will benefit my daily tasks and work flow. Besides placing the 120GB drive in an external enclosure, I don't know what I'm going to be doing with it. Time machine? Store away? Scratch disk? My next upgrade is ram. For the time being, 2GB of ram is more than sufficient.

    mT :apple:
     
  6. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    i actually plan on the same exact thing... just ordered hitachi 200 7200 and plan on installing leopard on it after installation and using my old hd as external for time machine and what not... do i need to reformat my current internal (soon to be external) to work with time machine or can i keep it as is and still be able to boot from it into tiger if i want?
     
  7. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    I think its something like - The natural state of a hard disk is full. :D

    Just tacked on two 1TB drives in my Mac Pro - one of which will be a Time Machine archive. That lets me use one of my firewire 1TB drives as a Time Machine archive for my Mac Book.

    Kind of scary - I've got about 7TB in HD storage acattered around the room right now... Two years ago it was 250GB :eek:
     
  8. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #8
    You have a MacBook Pro? You realize that it's a complicated, warranty-voiding process to switch out the hard drive, right?
     
  9. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #9
    Having a smaller hard drive to back up with Time Machine makes *no sense*. First of all, you can't do a complete backup, and second of all, you won't be able to take advantage of Time Machine's iterated backup feature.
     
  10. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #10
    Crazy how it's taken off, isn't it? But having all these hard drives is a real nuissance. Oh how I wish the Drobo were about a 1/10th of the price!
     
  11. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #11
    its not going to be a smaller hard drive after my bootcamp xp pro partition
     
  12. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #12
    Ah, that makes more sense.
     

Share This Page