Getting really frustrated. Blackra1n 3GS.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by wRek, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. wRek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #1
    I've been trying for quite a while to jailbreak my wife's newer 3GS. My 3GS has been jailbroken since 3.0 and is still jailbroken, with the latest being using PwnageTool.

    I have now tried PwnageTool as well as Blackra1n to jailbreak my wife's iPhone. It has the old boot-rom, everything appears good. Blackra1n runs, then it says, "Wait for reboot and device will be jailbroken." Instead, the phone reboots into recovery mode and iTunes opens up.

    Anyone have any ideas? I'm getting tired of trying this.
     
  2. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    try to kick it into DFU mode and out again see if it starts normally after that. :)

    And install a custom firmare on it in itunes. that should help. did for me.
     
  3. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #3
    Trying to build a new custom firmware through PwnageTool. We'll see if it works this time. It hasn't worked previously.
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Are you saying that the firmware doesn't even build?
     
  5. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #5
    The firmware builds just fine through PwnageTool. The problem is when I try to restore the phone using the custom IPSW , it goes most of the way through and then I get an error.
     
  6. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    what specific error do you get?
     
  7. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    Did you pwn her phone with Pwnage Tool? If not, you won't be able to restore the custom firmware to it. You need to make sure her phone is plugged in and tell PwnageTool her phone has never been pwned before when it comes to the end of building the firmware.
     
  8. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #8
    This was the error on the previous attempts:

    "The iPhone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occured (1604)."
     
  9. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #9

    Thanks! I didn't think of that. I will try it right now as soon as the new custom firmware builds.
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Yeah, if her phone isn't currently jailbroken you'll have to.
     
  11. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #11
    That may have been the problem. Her old one WAS previously jailbroken, so when I would update it I didn't have to re-jailbreak... I will post again as soon as I try this out and let you know if it worked. Thanks for the help!
     
  12. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    If you still get the 1604 error just put the iPhone in DFU and flash it with custom IPSW (Even original 3.0 IPSW from Apple would do the trick) from iTunes then JB again using normal procedures. :)
     
  13. wRek thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #13
    Looks like it worked! My wife is sync'ing it with her computer right now to get all of her stuff back on it. I feel dumb that it was something so easy messing me up, but I'm glad that someone mentioned it.

    Thanks very much for the help! That's why I love this forum.
     
  14. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Guys i need help BIG Time.

    Just tried to JailBreak using BlackRa1n.

    I installed the app and clicked Make it Rain. My Phone turned off. It downloaded something off itunes and now my phone is stuck on the USB to iTunes screen. iTunes said it was unable to restore my iPhone and I need to report this to Apple?

    I have tried everything and it won't mount to iTunes?

    I am downloading the 3.1 firmware to my desktop and I will try and install manually using Pwnage Tools.

    Can anyone advise me on what to do here as I'm a little worried now.
     
  15. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Any chance of helping me.

    I'm downloading the bootloaders now as a last resort. Hopefully PwnageTool will build a IPSW fromt these. Fingers Crossed.
     
  16. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #17
    sure we can help :)

    same as before DFU mode then install an older iTunes 8.2 (i think) flash the phone with original 3.0 firmware. then do the JB process :)

    should work like a charm
     
  17. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    I think you're very confused. You cannot download a bootloader; a bootloader can only be flashed at the factory when the iPhone is made. What are you trying to do?
     
  18. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #19
    i think he means the BL 3.9 and 4.6 baseband...

    To OP:
    If this is the case you are lost. since this can not be used with a 3G iPhone.

    go to the dev team blog and read up on how to do it. iclarified also have some good guides :)
     
  19. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #20
    Here is a copy of the post further up the page:

    Guys i need help BIG Time.

    Just tried to JailBreak using BlackRa1n.

    I installed the app and clicked Make it Rain. My Phone turned off. It downloaded something off itunes and now my phone is stuck on the USB to iTunes screen. iTunes said it was unable to restore my iPhone and I need to report this to Apple?

    I have tried everything and it won't mount to iTunes?

    I am downloading the 3.1 firmware to my desktop and I will try and install manually using Pwnage Tools.

    Can anyone advise me on what to do here as I'm a little worried now.
     
  20. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #21
    what is the error code iTunes gave you?

    have you tried using readsn0w? don't use latest but use 7.2 and iTunes 8.2
     
  21. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #22
    Im just downloading redsnow now.

    The phone briefly flashed a error message on iTunes but I didn't catch all of it.
    iTunes won't recognise the phone at all now.

    Ok guys i did the DFU.

    iTunes has recognised it now. It appears to be restoring I will let you know how I go on. Thanks for the help so far, I may need a bit more yet :p
     
  22. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #23
    trie recovery mode also first.

    turn of the phone. press and hold the home button. while holding home button connect the cable to the phone. keep holding home button for 10 sec just to be sure. remember to have iTunes open.
     
  23. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #24
    Stiss: I know you're worried about your phone, but you need to slow down and not do things willy-nilly. Something went wrong during your jailbreak; it happens. All you need to do is put it in DFU mode and restore it. Then you can jailbreak again, if you want. All this other stuff you are doing is pointless.
     
  24. Stiss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #25
    Ok. Got it. Thanks for the help like I say. Guess I had a panic.

    It's in DFU and I will try again? You can't actually brick your phone doing this can you?

    Edit: Thanks a million guys. It's back to factory settings now. Would you suggest using Blackra1n for Jail Breaking?
     

Share This Page