Getting Rid of Mac Keeper Notifications

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ConsiderPhlebas, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. ConsiderPhlebas, Aug 15, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015

    ConsiderPhlebas macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #1
    RESOLVED This is a rather drawn out post but I want to give enough info if anyone has any ideas to get Mac Keeper notifications off my Mid 2011 iMac.

    A year ago when on Mavericks, I tried the Clean My Mac Keeper program. Decided I did not want it and dragged it to the trash. However, I still got notifications from it and could find no way to delete it from SYS Pref Notifications panel. I still got messages even after dragging Mac Keeper notification entry to the “Not in Notification Center’ section.

    A spotlight search shows no occurrences of Mac Keeper files on my iMac.


    Yesterday, after updating to Yosemite, I put the incompatible Kindle program in the trash and got the message asking If I wanted to Use Mac Keeper to insure it was completely uninstalled. The damn thing was still there. Kind of hard to use Mac Keeper do anyway since the program was no longer available.

    Doesn’t seem to affect anything but it is a nuisance that I would like to be rid of. There is probably some simple way that I am totally clueless about. Ideas…anyone?
     
  2. vkd macrumors 6502a

    vkd

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #2
    Sounds like a kext for it is still in the System/Library/kexts folder, which is being loaded into memory every time you start your mac. You could use kextstat in terminal to check for it. Run

    kextstat > ~/Desktop/check.txt

    and you will generate a text file on your Desktop with the results. Analyse that file for anything suspicious.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Download and run the app Etrecheck and it will create an anonymized report showing all startup and hidden launch items (including Mac Keeper) and the location of the launch item.

    If you can't figure out what to delete from that report, just post the entire report up here and we can help you. :)
     
  4. ConsiderPhlebas thread starter macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #4
    Side Note: The Photos crash mentioned in the report occurred the first time I ran Photos after Yosemite upgrade. I sent the report to Apple

    Etrecheck Report

    Problem description:

    Unwanted Mac Keeper Notifications



    EtreCheck version: 2.4.1 (137)

    Report generated 8/15/15, 2:28 PM

    Download EtreCheck from http://etresoft.com/etrecheck



    Click the [Click for support] links for help with non-Apple products.

    Click the [Click for details] links for more information about that line.

    Click the [Click to remove] links for help removing adware.



    Hardware Information: (What does this mean?)

    iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) (Technical Specifications)

    iMac - model: iMac12,2

    1 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 CPU: 4-core

    24 GB RAM Upgradeable

    BANK 0/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1333 MHz ok

    BANK 1/DIMM0

    8 GB DDR3 1333 MHz ok

    BANK 0/DIMM1

    4 GB DDR3 1333 MHz ok

    BANK 1/DIMM1

    4 GB DDR3 1333 MHz ok

    Bluetooth: Old - Handoff/Airdrop2 not supported

    Wireless: en1: 802.11 a/b/g/n


    Video Information: (What does this mean?)

    AMD Radeon HD 6970M - VRAM: 2048 MB

    iMac 2560 x 1440


    System Software: (What does this mean?)

    OS X 10.10.5 (14F27) - Time since boot: about one day


    Disk Information: (What does this mean?)

    WDC WD1001FALS-403AA0 disk0 : (1 TB) (Rotational)

    EFI (disk0s1) <not mounted> : 210 MB

    Recovery HD (disk0s3) <not mounted> [Recovery]: 650 MB

    Macintosh HD (disk1) / : 998.97 GB (914.60 GB free)

    Core Storage: disk0s2 999.35 GB Online


    OPTIARC DVD RW AD-5680H ()


    USB Information: (What does this mean?)

    Apple Inc. FaceTime HD Camera (Built-in)

    American Power Conversion Back-UPS BR1500G FW:865.L2 .D USB FW:L2

    Apple Inc. BRCM2046 Hub

    Apple Inc. Bluetooth USB Host Controller

    Logitech Logitech Wireless Speaker Z515

    Apple Computer, Inc. IR Receiver

    Apple Internal Memory Card Reader


    Thunderbolt Information: (What does this mean?)

    Apple Inc. thunderbolt_bus


    Configuration files: (What does this mean?)

    /etc/sudoers - Modified


    Gatekeeper: (What does this mean?)

    Mac App Store and identified developers


    Launch Agents: (What does this mean?)

    [loaded] com.coupons.coupond.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] com.google.keystone.agent.plist [Click for support]

    [running] com.mcafee.menulet.plist [Click for support]

    [running] com.mcafee.reporter.plist [Click for support]


    Launch Daemons: (What does this mean?)

    [loaded] com.adobe.fpsaud.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] com.google.keystone.daemon.plist [Click for support]

    [unknown] com.mcafee.ssm.ScanFactory.plist [Click for support]

    [unknown] com.mcafee.ssm.ScanManager.plist [Click for support]

    [running] com.mcafee.virusscan.fmpd.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] com.microsoft.office.licensing.helper.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] com.oracle.java.JavaUpdateHelper.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] jp.co.canon.MasterInstaller.plist [Click for support]

    [failed] org.tcpdump.chmod_bpf.plist [Click for support]


    User Launch Agents: (What does this mean?)

    [loaded] com.adobe.ARM.[...].plist [Click for support]

    [running] com.amazon.cloud-player.plist [Click for support]

    [failed] com.apple.CSConfigDotMacCert-[...]@me.com-SharedServices.Agent.plist

    [loaded] com.macpaw.CleanMyMac2Helper.scheduledScan.plist [Click for support]

    [loaded] com.macpaw.CleanMyMac2Helper.trashWatcher.plist [Click for support]


    User Login Items: (What does this mean?)

    SpeechSynthesisServer Application (/System/Library/Frameworks/ApplicationServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/SpeechSynthesis.framework/Versions/A/SpeechSynthesisServer.app)

    Dropbox Application (/Applications/Dropbox.app)

    ConnectService Application (/Library/Application Support/ArcSoft/Connect Service/ConnectService.app)


    Internet Plug-ins: (What does this mean?)

    Default Browser: Version: 600 - SDK 10.10

    AdobePDFViewerNPAPI: Version: 11.0.12 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    FlashPlayer-10.6: Version: 18.0.0.232 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    Silverlight: Version: 5.1.30317.0 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    Flash Player: Version: 18.0.0.232 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    QuickTime Plugin: Version: 7.7.3

    iPhotoPhotocast: Version: 7.0 - SDK 10.8

    SharePointBrowserPlugin: Version: 14.5.3 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    AdobePDFViewer: Version: 11.0.12 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    CouponPrinter-FireFox_v2: Version: 5.2.0 - SDK 10.6 [Click for support]

    SiteAdvisor: Version: 2.0 - SDK 10.1 [Click for support]

    EPPEX Plugin: Version: 10.0 [Click for support]

    JavaAppletPlugin: Version: 15.0.0 - SDK 10.10 Check version



    Safari Extensions: (What does this mean?)

    AdBlock

    Searchme Adware! [Click to remove]

    SiteAdvisor

    Slick Savings Adware! [Click to remove]

    MacVX

    Ebay Shopping Assistant Adware! [Click to remove]


    3rd Party Preference Panes: (What does this mean?)

    Flash Player [Click for support]


    Time Machine: (What does this mean?)

    Skip System Files: NO

    Auto backup: NO - Auto backup turned off

    Volumes being backed up:

    Macintosh HD: Disk size: 998.97 GB Disk used: 84.38 GB

    Destinations:

    Time Machine Backups [Local]

    Total size: 499.76 GB

    Total number of backups: 6

    Oldest backup: 2011-06-11 18:28:45 +0000

    Last backup: 2015-08-13 17:48:54 +0000

    Size of backup disk: Adequate

    Backup size 499.76 GB > (Disk used 84.38 GB X 3)


    Top Processes by CPU: (What does this mean?)

    2% WindowServer

    2% fontd

    0% ConnectService

    0% taskgated

    0% hidd


    Top Processes by Memory: (What does this mean?)

    1.66 GB Google Chrome Helper(12)

    1.28 GB kernel_task

    467 MB softwareupdated

    270 MB Google Chrome

    197 MB spindump


    Virtual Memory Information: (What does this mean?)

    12.00 GB Free RAM

    12.00 GB Used RAM (9.01 GB Cached)

    0 B Swap Used


    Diagnostics Information: (What does this mean?)

    Aug 14, 2015, 05:34:54 PM /Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/fmpd_2015-08-14-173454_[redacted].crash

    Aug 14, 2015, 01:41:41 PM Self test - passed

    Aug 14, 2015, 01:26:07 PM ~/Library/Logs/DiagnosticReports/Photos_2015-08-14-132607_[redacted].crash
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I would dump this. It will be in the folder Macintosh HD/Library/LaunchAgents

    Here are the two that are starting CMM. Go to the folder ~/Library/LaunchAgents. ~ equals your username. So if your username is Phlebas, for example, the folder would be at /Users/Phlebas/Library/LaunchAgents.

    These three extensions are adware. Download and run the app MalwareBytes to kill those three.
     
  6. ConsiderPhlebas thread starter macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #6

    Hope I am not being too big of a pain, but one more question.
    I cannot find the library directory under my user name. Is it hidden? If so, how do I make it visible and then back to hidden in Yosemite?
    Thanks.
     
  7. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #7
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Yes it is, and I apologize for not mentioned that. You can either do what CoastalOR mentioned, or just option key click the Go menu and ~/Library will be there.
     
  9. ConsiderPhlebas thread starter macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #9
    Did the terminal command and Library was displayed but grayed out. Being the eternal optimist I clicked on it anyway to no effect. In case it matters my account is an administrator type.

    In Finder, I do not see the Go menu selection in the toolbar. Searching the web I see all kinds of references on how to use the Go menu but nothing on what to do if its missing.

    Since this is a nuisance and not an urgent problem,I will let it go.

    Thanks to all who responded for your help. I appreciate it very much, and I learned a few things about the Yosemite OS.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    The only time you will see the Go menu in the Finder, is when you see the word Finder next to the Apple. If you see any of your apps, then just click anywhere you like on your desktop, and you will see Finder, and you will see the Go menu, too.
    As was suggested, Option-click on the Go menu, and you will see the Library appear in the middle of the Go menu listing.
     
  11. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #11
    Let's try and get you to the folder that you want. I hope not to offend, but I'm trying to include all steps.
    1. Copy ~/Library (Command-c)
    2. Click on a blank place on the desktop so that Finder is displayed to the right of the :apple: in the upper left hand side of your menu bar.
    3. Type/enter Shift-Command-g to bing up the Go to Folder... menu selection. Paste (Command-v) ~/Library and click the Go button.

    Good luck. :)
     
  12. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #12
    I'm confused - I can't visual what you are suggesting. What exactly do you Command-c in your step #1?

    Isn't it easier to just Option click the Go menu?
     
  13. CoastalOR, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #13
    Copy ~/Library (while viewing the thread in the web browser) before clicking the desktop to get to the Finder. The copied string will be pasted in step 3.

    EDIT: DeltaMac - your method definitely works. I was typing my response before you replied, but did not finish it before you submitted your reply.
     
  14. ConsiderPhlebas thread starter macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #14
    That did it. Problem resolved.

    My confusion was that I was bringing up Finder from the dock icon and not the the one beside the Apple.
     
  15. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    I see you got it sorted out. Just for next time, if you click anywhere on the Desktop you will see the Go menu in the menu bar. Sorry for not being more clear.
     
  16. ConsiderPhlebas thread starter macrumors member

    ConsiderPhlebas

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Location:
    SC, US
    #16
    No problem on your part. The problem was with me. Despite having had my iMac for 4 years, I am still low on the knowledge curve.

    Absolutely no offense taken. A step that would seem an obvious given to the tech savvy, maybe not so much for me.
     

Share This Page