Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

elbirth

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 19, 2006
North Carolina, US
First of all, I have very little programming knowledge. When I had the crazy idea to attempt a computer science major in college, I took a class on java, which was a nightmare for me (the horrible professor just made it worse). So while I don't really know how to do any full blown programming coming out of that class, I can look at code and somewhat make sense of it some... not that that's necessarily helpful.

Anyway, I'm wondering if there are any resources available for getting started in making cocoa apps? I don't particularly have any solid ideas at the moment for what I'd want to try making, but the motivation for this comes from my Windows days.... several friends of mine and I used IRC chat rooms a bit to talk and I took mIRC and modified it a bit (with help from online sources) to personalize it and add a few interesting things to it.

It was fun and I'd like to perhaps do some things on the Mac as well if it's not a huge endeavor.

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
elbirth said:
First of all, I have very little programming knowledge. When I had the crazy idea to attempt a computer science major in college, I took a class on java, which was a nightmare for me (the horrible professor just made it worse). So while I don't really know how to do any full blown programming coming out of that class, I can look at code and somewhat make sense of it some... not that that's necessarily helpful.