Getting started in 'professional' web development.

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by leRiCl, Jul 8, 2009.

1. leRiCl macrumors member

Just a bit of background. I'm studying a software engineering and commerce degree. I studied graphics design in high school but dropped it as I approached the final years in favor of the sciences. (My school made me choose... either graphics or chemistry). I chose science because of my mis-informed belief that it would better get me jobs, despite having gotten first place in class for graphics, and was my favourite subject.

I'm in the middle of my degree, I love everything I'm studying, programming, economics, etc, but some part of me yearns for _drawing_, creative stuff.

As a programmer, besides proper programming languages, I've also learnt these web languages: HTML, javascript, CSS, SQL, because I was interested in web development. I know how to make a simple site, possibly involving databases, I know how to use dreamweaver, rapidweaver, etc to make a decent looking site.

But how do I learn to do more advanced features?

Look at the top of this site. See the navigation bar "Mac Rumors" "Page2" "iPhone"..."Forums", and see the sub-bar "User CP" "..." Forum Spy"...

How would I think of, and implement things like that? I don't mean copying it, that's easy, but implement my own design ideas? Do you draw your own images? I don't know how to draw 'navigational images' like the nav-bar up top. What about design principles? How do you know if something is first-time-user-friendly or not?

I want to develop websites as good as you, and any other professional. Good enough to have someone want to hire me. (Even though I'm probably doing it for amateur purposes).