Getting Started with the iPad 2

Discussion in 'iPad' started by fterh, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. fterh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #1
    I just bought an iPad 2 (4.3.3).

    How do I get started? I'm tempted to Jailbreak. But what's with all the backing up of SHSH blobs and stuff? Should I be concerned?

    Thanks!

    P/S: I'm so excited to finally own an iPad! :D
     
  2. tstarks33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #2
    Are you asking us to tell you how to use it? What apps to get? I assume there is a reason you bought it, so just start doing that :)
     
  3. palpatine macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #3
    congrats!

    if you are asking these questions, you probably shouldn't jailbreak it :)
    is there a reason you want to do this?
     
  4. fterh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    #4
    Nope. More of, getting started with jailbreaking.

    I own an Android phone, so I'm used to customizing. I owned an iPod Touch, so I have jailbroken before. But that was years ago, so things have changed, I'm just wondering if there's anything I should take note now. :D
     
  5. kylera macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #5
    You can do what I did and first experiment with apps from the App Store. I downloaded random stuff to get a feel for what the iPad was capable for (short answer: almost everything) and worked my way from there.
     
  6. tstarks33 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #6
    Check out the iPad hacks messageboard.
     
  7. fterh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
  8. JeeRock macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #8
    i say go for it jailbreak ftw

    you gotta start somehow.
    but read instructions first and tons of it.
    you ll only learn/understand by actually doing it.
    theres no such thing as you were born knowing it already.
     
  9. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #9
    Not 100% correct on this, but I think if you choose 'User' when you launch Cydia for the first time, SHSH's are automatically saved(it did for me). Not sure how long that'll last though, as Apple will stop signing 4.3.3 firmware any time now(if they haven't already).
     

Share This Page