Getting struck while installing Bootcamp drivers

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by amstos, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. amstos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #1
    Hi, 3 days back bought a MacBookPro 2.66ghz i7, 8gb ram, 128SSD. It came with Snow leapord 10.6.3.

    I installed Bootcamp > Windows XP 32bit> inserted OS dvd to install Bootcamp drivers Version 3.1 (Build 2232). Now the problem starts.

    While installing the drivers, the installer stops at "Installing Audio drivers" and didn't proceed. So, i copied the Bootcamp drivers to local hdd and tried installing again. This time the installer stops at "Installing Apple Keyboard". I tried three times.

    Can anyone help.

    -Amstos
     
  2. TZRaceR6 Guest

    TZRaceR6

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    You want version 3.0. Don't think it is possible to install 3.1 without first installing 3.0???

    All downloads (OSX 10.6.4 update; BootCamp Driver packages) can be found here http://support.apple.com/downloads/ and here: http://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/

    Do you not have the original Snow Leopard Install CD?

    Also, an important note: Boot Camp supports only Microsoft Windows Home Edition and Professional with SP2 or later, and Microsoft Vista. The required Macintosh-specific drivers provided by Apple are only intended for these releases.
     
  3. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #3
    Ignore TZRaceR6's comments.

    Are you sure you are getting the 32 bit drivers?
    I am not sure if it makes any difference, but have you updated Windows XP to SP2 or SP3?

    If you are using the 32 bit drivers, try to first see what is installed and what needs a driver from the device manager in XP. Then you can check if there is a matching, or otherwise unmatching, driver software package installed in the add/remove programs.

    As it really does not serve a purpose if a driver software package has been installed if the driver was not properly installed, you should remove the software related.
    OR basically if you check the device manager and for example the video card is missing a driver, and then you check the add/remove programs and see nvidia related software, REMOVE the related software.

    Next you should try manually installing each package individually rather than running the setup executable you found in the bootcamp folder, and only try installing the packages which show that a driver needs to be installed from what you saw in the device manager.

    If this fails, there are still other options such as manually installing the drivers from the device manager and other techniques.

    NOTE: devices in the device manager missing their driver will have a red exclamation mark.

    Also you might post what drivers indicate are missing their drivers from the device manager as well as what software has been installed from the add/remove programs.
     
  4. TZRaceR6 Guest

    TZRaceR6

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    ^^^ Other than asking if it was possible to load 3.1 without first loading 3.0 (which I don't know, hence the ???), my comments come direct from the Apple website, so yeah, probably a good thing to ignore them. :rolleyes:

    I love stupid people.
     
  5. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #5
    The 3.1 drivers were clearly from the OS/X disc, and therefore there is no reason to install 3.0 drivers first.
    Then you say that only Windows XP Home and Professional and Vista are supported. This is not true either. Apple supports Windows 7 since the bootcamp drivers 3.1 were released, and the only other version of Windows XP is Media Center Edition which is simply Windows XP Professional with the media center application, therefore supported.

    Your comments read like talking to Dell tech support. I understand that you do not have a problem reading the old and not updated information off of Apple's website; now how about you actually try to solve the problem.

    As I said ignore his comments.

    TZRaceR6
    You bought the 2.66GHz model MBP 13", and you call me stupid?

    $300US or roughly 25-30% increase in price for a 10% clock speed increase.
     
  6. TZRaceR6 Guest

    TZRaceR6

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    I'm not gonna argue with you. What I stated is direct from the Apple website. I run WIndows 7 Ultimate without issue, with the latest drivers. I never needed to look into XP info. So if someone is using XP, should they not look at Apple's website for the info? Apparently not in your world.

    And if you had a clue to what I spent on this, you'd be crying. Let's just say it was no where near the price of even the base model 13". Again, I love talking with stupid people.
     
  7. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #7
    You are saying I am stupid correct? but you have done nothing which will resolve the problems the poster is having. I have though. I understand how to work with drivers beyond just double click the executable. You read the apple website like it's the bible on the otherhand. You may think I am stupid but I think your comment is worthless, and I think you are ignorant because you think that you are passing on generally useful information. If you never posted your copy paste from the apple website the poster would be no further along nor behind. Your comments should be ignored therefore. And I will explain this to you as well, if the poster wanted tech support read from a manual the poster could have called apple.

    Also if you got such a great price why get the 13" with the two year old core 2 duo? You still have yet to prove your intelligence by your purchase.

    And listen to this, so a year ago I walk into the apple store and explain to the sales person that this will be my first apple computer to own. The sales person likes the story so much, the sales person sold me my mbp for $1. It could only be the base model but the sales person still allowed me the back to school free iPod promotion.

    I love talking with ignorant people.
     
  8. amstos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #8
    Hi TZRaceR6. "Do you not have the original Snow Leopard Install CD?" - yes, i just bought new MacBookPro. I inserted the dvd given by Apple. There exists the problem.

    Hi kny3twalker. "have you updated Windows XP to SP2 or SP3" - yes i had i'm installing Windows 32bit SP2.

    guys please help.
     
  9. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #9
    Did you read beyond my questions at the beginning where I suggested trying to find out which drivers need to be installed from the device manager? Do you know how to find the device manager? Can you post what software has been installed (add/remove programs) and which drivers are missing (red exclamation mark in device manager)?

    I am guessing since you copied everything from the disc, you will feel comfortable navigating through the installer packages. So again, please post answers to my above questions.
     
  10. TZRaceR6 Guest

    TZRaceR6

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    How big is your partition for bootcamp? Over 32GB's? Did you partition with FAT32 or NFTS?

    If all else fails, go back into disk utility and reformat the drive to a single partition (erasing everything) and start over from scratch. May be the easiest thing to do if nothing else seems to work.
     
  11. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #11
    Why are you suggesting the poster should reformat and reinstall windows because of a driver problem on a fresh install? And how could the file system make any difference?
     
  12. MaccGuy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #12
    I would suggest you upgrade to Windows XP SP3 and retry installing the bootcamp drivers.

    You can manually install the network drivers from the dvd:

    UserDVD:\Boot Camp\Drivers\Broadcom\ BroadcomNetworkAdapterXP.exe
    UserDVD:\Boot Camp\Drivers\Broadcom\ BroadcomEthernetXP.exe

    try that out.

    -MaccGuy
     
  13. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #13
    His problem is with the keyboard and audio driver though. Nevertheless I suppose this should give him some idea on how to locate the correct drivers.
     
  14. amstos thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #14
    kny3twalker: "Do you know how to find the device manager? Can you post what software has been installed (add/remove programs)" - yes, i found that the Audio drivers hasn't been installed. Lastly what i did is, i installed Bootcamp version 3 drivers and then installed the latest driver from Apple's website. Now, everything works perfectly, but still displays messages that it found new Audio hardware. But Audio, Keyboard, Brithtness works fine.

    TZRaceR6: "You want version 3.0. Don't think it is possible to install 3.1 without first installing 3.0???" - you are right, i installed version 3 first and then installed version 3.1, works fine. Thanks

    Finally i was able to install all the drivers, but on a round about way. The problem is with the original OS dvd. The bootcamp drivers in it are a crap.

    Thank you all of you guys for taking your time on replying. I sincerely appreciate it.
     
  15. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

    kny3twalker

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #15
    The reason the bootcamp drivers 3.0 were required before installing version 3.1 is because not all drivers were updated with the new release and apple only included the updated drivers.
    Then since you model MBP is newer than v3.0 release, its likely that there was never a set of drivers from v3.0 made for it. This is beginning to sound like user error as Apple would have included all the drivers for your MBP regardless that the drivers are v3.1. If it is displaying a new driver is found for your audio device every boot into windows, then something else is wrong.
    The keyboard and brightness controls are likely the same driver between v3.0 and v3.1, though I have not checked, and therefore why it works.
    I realize that you have it working now, but I think you could have resolved this without using the old drivers as they may cause issues.
     

Share This Page