Getting the new 4G. Quick Question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by derek1984, May 25, 2010.

  1. derek1984 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #1
    I currently have the 3GS. My question is, when I activate my new iPhone, can I still use my old 3GS as an iPod and for GPS?

    Thanks
     
  2. beamer8912 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #2
    iPod, yes. GPS, I don't think so. I think the GPS in the iPhone is assisted by the cell towers so you would need a data plan to use it. I'm not 100% sure on the GPS though.
     
  3. elfxmilhouse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast USA
    #3
    it doesnt need the data. the module does use A-GPS but it can still function as a traditional GPS receiver. of course if you do not have a data connection you need the maps to be stored locally on the device if you intend to use the GPS for navigation.
     
  4. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    And Google maps does not store the data locally. It requires a data plan. So you'd need to purchase another GPS solution.
     
  5. derek1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #5
    Actually I would be using it for GolfShot GPS. Usually I turn off 3G when I use it.

    So in that case, it would be good for that app?
     
  6. Pattycerts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #6
    Not familiar w/the app but if it works with 3G off then you should be fine
     
  7. beamer8912 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    #7
    Do you turn ALL data off (i.e. Airplane mode) or just 3G? Because turning off 3G just means you're using EDGE instead, which you won't have access to either if you don't have a data plan.

    Just looked up the App you mentioned, in it's description it says the app REQUIRES 3G, EDGE or WiFi. So if you can get WiFi on whatever course you're playing then you're set, otherwise you still need the data plan.
     
  8. tigertazz macrumors 6502

    tigertazz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #8
    Don't you still need a sim card in the phone to even access it?
     
  9. derek1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    #9
    Maybe I am better off just selling the phone on eBay. I don't need another iPod.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  10. IlliniDude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #10
    Maybe you need the WiFi to download the course map, but then don't need the data while playing? I don;t know the app either so I can't say.
     
  11. elfxmilhouse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast USA
    #11
    GPS =/= navigation or maps.

    just because you are using GPS doesnt mean you are using it for navigation. the OP uses it for his golf app.
     
  12. Geckotek macrumors G3

    Geckotek

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #12
    He didn't state that until after my post.
     
  13. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #13
    yes and the problem is.....
     
  14. tigertazz macrumors 6502

    tigertazz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #14
    If you have a sim in the phone, won't it still have some kind of data connection evan if it's a non contract sim?
    It would cost though
     
  15. macfan881 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    #15
    why not just use the 4G phone when you get it it will still have GPS?
     
  16. StingerT125 macrumors 6502a

    StingerT125

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Dutchess County New York
    #16
    I use my old 3G without a SIM card in it without an issue.
     
  17. elfxmilhouse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast USA
    #17
    i understand that, but my point was that we should not assume GPS always means navigation.
     

Share This Page