Getting the Power Button on a Cinema Display to sleep a Laptop

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Benjamindaines, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. Benjamindaines macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #1
    Is there anyway to get the power button on the Cinema Displays (aluminum ones) to sleep a MacBook Pro? I have it set up in System Preferences to sleep the computer, but when you tap the button the Sleep, Shutdown, or Restart dialogue pops up (same one you get if you press the power button on the laptop).

    --Thanks.
     
  2. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #2
    no sorry. but do you know the "command-option-eject" shortcut to sleep?
     
  3. Benjamindaines thread starter macrumors 68030

    Benjamindaines

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Location:
    A religiously oppressed state
    #3
    I do, thanks.
     
  4. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #5
    I was wondering about this also. Another thing I was wondering is if there exists a way for you to directly shutdown your computer using the power button on the cinema display. The shutdown options dialog comes up but it just stays there...
     
  6. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    Anybody? I haven't found a solution for accomplishing this.
     
  7. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    Since you are unable to configure this directly in the preferences dialogue I don't think it will be possible to do this, because you cannot power up the machine under any circumstances using anything but the power button (and maybe WOL but still). If they enabled this users may expect to be able to power on the machine, but that functionality isn't included on recent keyboards or the ACD.
     
  8. chosenwolf macrumors 6502a

    chosenwolf

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    True

    But since you can use key commands to power down the machine (option + eject + return), I was thinking there would be a way (perhaps through a script) to run those commands when the cinema power button is pressed.
     

Share This Page