Gevey 5.01 unlock?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by lians60, Nov 12, 2011.

  1. lians60 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Am i able to use the Gevey Sim to unlock an iphone 4 with 5.01?
     
  2. headcase macrumors 6502

    headcase

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #2
  3. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #3
  4. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
  5. jeans94621 macrumors regular

    jeans94621

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #5

    With snowbreeze you are able to upgrade to 5.0 and snowbreeze says you can also upgrade 5.0.1 but they don't recommend I if you want to jailbreak. I had no problem upgrading to 5.0 and my phone is working fine. I do have the battery drain but I am always around plugs so I will wait for the jailbreak.
     
  6. lians60 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #6
    i dont care much for the jail break. I just want to unlock the phone. Is it possible to downgrade from 5.01 to 5.0?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    No, nothing you can do to unlock right now.
    Baseband cant be downgraded so you're sol.
     
  8. lians60 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #8
    If i did a 'Factory Restore' i assume i would still have 5.01?

    Or would it be the OS the Phone originally has when purchased?

    Sorry, im a nooob. :eek:
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Bad idea, next time you have to be more carefull. Those hacks/unlocks do not last forever and Apple patches them up.
    If you did a restore it either put 5.0.1 or 5.0 and in either case both of those cannot be unlocked with gevey.
    Only 4.3.5 firmware and below.
     
  10. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    Gevey sim only works on Iphone with basebase 04.10 and lower. Once the phone upgrade to stock firmware of OS5 or higher, the baseband also upgrade to 04.11 and that the reason it is no longer work.

    There are people with Iphone 4 running OS5 unlock with Gevey sim because they have upgrade their phones using customs OS5 firmware while preserving their phones baseband of 04.10 or lower.
     

Share This Page