Gevey Sim in Japan

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Pogopuschel, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. Pogopuschel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #1
    I will be moving to Japan soon and I have an iPhone 4 with 4.10.1 baseband (From ATT in the US). I'm pretty new to this but based on my research Gevey is currently the only way to "unlock" it, correct? Also, am I right to assume that it won't work in Japan since, at least according to Wikipedia, Japan does not use 112 as their emergency call number?

    I have found people talking about using a Japanese iPhone in the US, but never the other way round. Any experience with this?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    It works irrespective of 112 being emergency number in that country .
    Gevey doesnot need emergency number to b connected.
    Go ahead buy it . Just don't update to iOS 5 when it's out coz gevey won't work on it :)
     
  3. pawheel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #3
    Go ahead and update to 4.3.3 so you can use your phone as a hot spot in japan. There are also a bunch of small fixes in the 4.3.3.

    Do more research on the gevey sim working in japan. I know my Gevey works on two different networks here in Thailand.
     
  4. Pogopuschel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the answers. So you guys are talking about jailbreaking and then using furiousmod with Gevey? That doesn't seem to require dialing 112, but I always thought that it simply automates the process and 112 would still be required to be a valid/emergency number.

    I really can't find much information about someone using a locked US iPhone in Japan, only the other way round. However, the Gevey website has Softbank APN information, I guess that should mean something.
     
  5. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #5
    It just has to dial 112, the call doesn't have to connect. It's actually better if 112 isn't an emergency number as you're less likely to get in trouble. The only way to use a locked US phone in Japan or any other country is to either unlock it or to pay ATT a ton of money for international roaming.
     
  6. Pogopuschel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #6
    So the conclusion is that I can use it even though 112 doesn't 'exist' in Japan? : )
     
  7. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #7
    Yes that's the conclusion. Just don't update to iOS 5.
     
  8. Pogopuschel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #8
    Thanks, great! Time to order =) I hope the Gevey guys come out with an update for iOS 5 soon though. That probably won't happen before the iOS 5 stable is release though, so, time to order.
     
  9. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #9
    First problem will be to get a SIM card in Japan.

    Our "preferred" provider here is Softbank; the only official source for iPhone and iPad with 3G in Japan. Lets say in this way: in big areas it works well; in country side you can easy run out of signal. Getting better though.

    But again: don't think they will give you a SIM card and they might charge you the a big whole in your wallet if you try to use them with an iPhone not brought in Japan. They can identify that via the APN and IMEI number.

    Meanwhile NTT looks like to offer something working with iPhone from outside Japan; but also around 10'000 Yen/month.

    You might find this blog helpful: http://softbanksucks.blogspot.com/

    Enjoy Japan ...
     
  10. Pogopuschel, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011

    Pogopuschel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #10
    I was thinking about just buying a Softbank Prepaid Phone and using that SIM card. Kind of like described here: http://jeisu.wordpress.com/2010/10/...-iphone-4-work-with-softbank-prepay-in-japan/

    That won't work?

    EDIT: Or get a rental card? http://www.softbank-rental.jp/en/phones/sim3g.php

    Sure, the rental is expensive, but my main reason for doing it is that I don't want to make a contract with Softbank *now* because I was planning to buy an iPhone 5 (with Softbank contract) once it comes out. I don't wanna pay for the phone twice.
     
  11. Abs_p macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yes
     
  12. Ookami macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    #12
    I have a trip coming up to Japan. Considering the Gevey and renting a Softbank sim. Did Gevey end up working?
     
  13. Pogopuschel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    #13
    I couldn't get it to work and wasted 2 SIM cards ;) After I cut them and put them into the Gevey they suddenly stopped working in the original phone, not sure why.

    However, it may have been my fault that it didn't work out as I had upgraded my iOS version before and couldn't get an untethered unlock anymore. I'm just using a jp. phone for now and waiting for the iPhone 5.
     

Share This Page