Gevey SIM with IOS5?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Hf44, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. Hf44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    #1
    Does anyone know if the gevey SIM unlock for the iphone 4 will work when installing IOS5? is there any information regarding this?

    RIP steve jobs :apple:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    iOS 5 has fixed the security hole the illegal Gevey SIM uses to unlock the iPhone.
     
  3. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    if you update using snowbreeze which preserves your baseband you should be able to use the gevey sim
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    I wonder if that's true?
    Does the exploit rely on the baseband to work or is there also the hole patched in the firmware 5.0 and not just the BB?
     
  5. google macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
  6. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #6
    Gevey Ultra, brah. I'm using it now on T-mobile here.
     
  7. sprehodec macrumors member

    sprehodec

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Sarajevo
    #7
    Today I updated to iOS5 with sn0wbreeze and I'm using Gevey card, works perfectly, I would suggest to wait for untethered jailbreak.

    RIP Steve Jobs :apple:
     
  8. mastomania macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #8
    I updated with custom firmware created in snowbreeze, preserved baseband and hactivated, but when i call 112 to unlock the iphone doesn´t hang up -.-
     
  9. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I beleive the exploit relies on the baseband
     
  10. jhajj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #10
    How did you get past the activation screen which requires a AT&T sim?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Thank you sir.
     
  12. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Just updated to IOS 5 GM, used iTunes beta 7 and snowbreeze preserve baseband without jailbreak method. Gevey sim card works like a charm for the past 6 hrs
     
  13. jck524 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #13
    Is there any way you can give a step by step guide on how to do this? I am a COMPLETE noob when it comes to iphones. I'm running a jailbroken iPhone 4 4.3.3 4.10.01 ATT locked phone in canada using a gevey sim and i want to update to IOS5.
     
  14. google macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #14
    Can someone post a good re-seller of Gevey sim (iphone 3gs) and Gevey Ultra (iPhone 4)?
     
  15. shrtmkr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    the apple
    #15
    http://applenberry.com/
     

Share This Page