Gevey Ultra

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
I purchased a Gevey Ultra and downloaded FuriousMod, but am still getting the No Sim Installed. I need some of your help!

What am I doing wrong? It is as if the Gevey Ultra does not exist.

My iPhone 4 is 4.2.1 with baseband 03.10.01. It should work...
 
Last edited:

mtime

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2012
24
0
Where did you buy the Gevey Ultra? and which repo did you download FuriousMod from?

Some additional detail would help to diagnose the problem.

I have a Gevey Ultra (legit) on Iphone 4 bb 4.10.01 on IOS 5.0.1 running latest FuriousMod without issue.
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
Thank you for the response.

It should be a legitimate Gevey Ultra.
The Repo I downloaded the Furiousmod (version 2.0.0) from is cydia.furiousmod.com.

I'm not sure what is wrong. Is there any other information that you might need in order to help me?
 

psionicsin

macrumors 6502
Dec 6, 2011
281
119
Metro-Detroit, MI
Thank you for the response.

It should be a legitimate Gevey Ultra.
The Repo I downloaded the Furiousmod (version 2.0.0) from is cydia.furiousmod.com.

I'm not sure what is wrong. Is there any other information that you might need in order to help me?
Umm you need to be a member for that site to even see anything. Doubt anyone is going to go through the trouble of join just to help trouble shoot. Might wanna ask someone on that board/forum/site.
 

Eternal 28

macrumors 6502
Apr 22, 2008
294
23
What carrier are u on? If T-Mobile make sure you turn off 3G. Settings, General, Network. Make sure you enable data roaming as well.
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
I believe I was able to successfully install Furiousmod from that Repo source. I don't think that is the problem.

I might be a little confused as to this response as I'm not sure of what site and forum this is referring to...and how it will help me in successfully unlocking my iPhone and finally getting connected to the network.

The carrier is Docomo in Japan (I originally had AT&T in the US). I did try turning off the 3G and enabling Data Roaming, but that did not do the trick. Although it probably wasn't necessary, I tried turing Airplane mode On and Off as well as dialing 112 and hanging up immediately.
 

fullmanfullninj

macrumors regular
Dec 30, 2009
232
0
Umm you need to be a member for that site to even see anything. Doubt anyone is going to go through the trouble of join just to help trouble shoot. Might wanna ask someone on that board/forum/site.
smh...cydia.furiousmod.com is the official repo for Furiousmod (hence the name of the site and the mod itself). Just because Furiousmod comes from there doesn't mean that people can't help him out here. Most people who would potentially help out OP are already familiar with Furiousmod anyway.

Try uninstalling furiousmod, turn off 3G, enable data roaming. Pop out your SIM card and turn the phone off. Turn the phone back on with no SIM card in and try doing it manually.
(Wait for the Gevey message to pop up...push accept, wait 15 seconds until you have 1bar of signal, dial 112, hang up, airplane mode until you get the mesage, airplane mode off and etc)

Best see if your Gevey is working properly first.
 

mtime

macrumors newbie
Jan 6, 2012
24
0
I believe I was able to successfully install Furiousmod from that Repo source. I don't think that is the problem.

I might be a little confused as to this response as I'm not sure of what site and forum this is referring to...and how it will help me in successfully unlocking my iPhone and finally getting connected to the network.

The carrier is Docomo in Japan (I originally had AT&T in the US). I did try turning off the 3G and enabling Data Roaming, but that did not do the trick. Although it probably wasn't necessary, I tried turing Airplane mode On and Off as well as dialing 112 and hanging up immediately.
I don't believe there is GSM in Japan; so you can't operate your ATT phone. This is not a Gevey unlock issue
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
I was able to connect in Japan when roaming...shouldn't that be an indication that my iPhone is capable of connecting to the network?
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
I have visited Japan in the past on a shorter term, and my iPhone (still using the AT&T sim) would give me 2 choices for the roaming carrier (Softbank and Docomo). I felt that this was an indication that if my phone were to be unlocked, it should be able to connect to these 2 Japanese networks on their sim. As such, I impatiently entered into a contract with Docomo and am trying to connect using their sim card.

It is my thought that the problem lied with the Gevey Ultra as I did not get the standard messages even after following the instructions.

Is my iPhone incapable of connecting in Japan entirely or is my problem something I am doing with the Gevey Ultra?

Thank you all for your responses! Hopefully I can resolve this issue soon.
 
Last edited:

ericrwalker

macrumors 68030
Oct 8, 2008
2,812
3
Albany, NY
Being able to connect in another country is roaming.

Unlocked means you can use a sim from another carrier (SoftBank docomo or t-mobile) and not use your AT&T sim at all.

I have visited Japan in the past on a shorter term, and my iPhone (still using the AT&T sim) would give me 2 choices for the roaming carrier (Softbank and Docomo). I felt that this was an indication that if my phone were to be unlocked, it should be able to connect to these 2 Japanese networks on their sim. As such, I impatiently entered into a contract with Docomo and am trying to connect using their sim card.

It is my thought that the problem lied with the Gevey Ultra as I did not get the standard messages even after following the instructions.

Is my problem that my iPhone is incapable of connecting in Japan entirely or something I am doing with the Gevey Ultra?

Thank you all for your responses! Hopefully I can resolve this issue soon.
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
Being able to connect in another country is roaming.

Unlocked means you can use a sim from another carrier (SoftBank docomo or t-mobile) and not use your AT&T sim at all.
Yes. There was a comment that there is no GSM in Japan and my AT&T iPhone should not be operational as such. I'm not sure if I am supporting myself accurately, but if I was able to roam, should that not mean my iPhone was operational? If it was operational, shouldn't I be able to connect if my iPhone was unlocked using the Gevey Ultra?

To answer the other question, my iPhone 4 is version 4.2.1 with 03.10.01. I believe the Gevey Ultra should cover this...

Thank you all for your responses!

----------

smh...cydia.furiousmod.com is the official repo for Furiousmod (hence the name of the site and the mod itself). Just because Furiousmod comes from there doesn't mean that people can't help him out here. Most people who would potentially help out OP are already familiar with Furiousmod anyway.

Try uninstalling furiousmod, turn off 3G, enable data roaming. Pop out your SIM card and turn the phone off. Turn the phone back on with no SIM card in and try doing it manually.
(Wait for the Gevey message to pop up...push accept, wait 15 seconds until you have 1bar of signal, dial 112, hang up, airplane mode until you get the mesage, airplane mode off and etc)

Best see if your Gevey is working properly first.
I tried taking your advice, but still did not get the Gevey message. Is there something wrong with my Gevey Ultra?

Is it worthwhile, in my position, to try and purchase a different way/product to unlock my phone with all the comments that are telling me that it is not possible connecting to any of the Japanese carriers with an AT&T iPhone?
 

ericrwalker

macrumors 68030
Oct 8, 2008
2,812
3
Albany, NY
OK I still don't think you understand what gevey Ultra is.

Japan uses UMTS 2100 Mhz frequency. This is a radio frequency that the phone operates on. You can take any iPhone (3G, 3GS, 4, or 4S) except the original in the world and use it in Japan and you don't need an unlock.

Now if you want to use a docomo or softbank sim card in your phone, then you need and unlock like gevey for example.


Yes. There was a comment that there is no GSM in Japan and my AT&T iPhone should not be operational as such. I'm not sure if I am supporting myself accurately, but if I was able to roam, should that not mean my iPhone was operational? If it was operational, shouldn't I be able to connect if my iPhone was unlocked using the Gevey Ultra?

To answer the other question, my iPhone 4 is version 4.2.1 with 03.10.01. I believe the Gevey Ultra should cover this...

Thank you all for your responses!

----------



I tried taking your advice, but still did not get the Gevey message. Is there something wrong with my Gevey Ultra?

Is it worthwhile, in my position, to try and purchase a different way/product to unlock my phone with all the comments that are telling me that it is not possible connecting to any of the Japanese carriers with an AT&T iPhone?
 

TWS38

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
11
0
OK I still don't think you understand what gevey Ultra is.

Japan uses UMTS 2100 Mhz frequency. This is a radio frequency that the phone operates on. You can take any iPhone (3G, 3GS, 4, or 4S) except the original in the world and use it in Japan and you don't need an unlock.

Now if you want to use a docomo or softbank sim card in your phone, then you need and unlock like gevey for example.
So, my iPhone 4 is originally an AT&T iPhone. Although it has been put into question, I jailbroke my iPhone, purchased a Gevey Ultra, and entered into a contract with Docomo (so, I have a Docomo sim card) with the assumption that I can use my iPhone 4 in Japan if it is unlocked.

So, my original question was regarding how to make my Gevey Ultra work properly. However, there were some concerning comments regarding the actual ability to use the iPhone in general in Japan because of the GSM factor. Am I capable of using my iPhone 4 in Japan with the Docomo sim card if it is unlocked?

Sorry for being such a confused individual. Thank you all for trying to help me!
 
Last edited:

ericrwalker

macrumors 68030
Oct 8, 2008
2,812
3
Albany, NY
Now you make sense, yes you would need gevey ultra. A better way to probably do this though would be to sell your phone, and just buy a contract free one. Then you can use any sim you wanted.


So, my iPhone 4 is originally an AT&T iPhone. Although it has been put into question, I jailbroke my iPhone, purchased a Gevey Ultra, and entered into a contract with Docomo (so, I have a Docomo sim card) with the assumption that I can use my iPhone 4 in Japan if it is unlocked.

So, my original question was regarding how to make my Gevey Ultra work properly. However, there was some concerning comments regarding the actual ability to use the iPhone in general in Japan because of the GSM factor. Am I capable of using my iPhone 4 in Japan with the Docomo sim card if it is unlocked?

Sorry for being such a confused individual. Thank you all for trying to help me!
 

fullmanfullninj

macrumors regular
Dec 30, 2009
232
0
Hm, you're sure it's genuine? Where did you buy it from?

Try rebooting your phone, Gevey SIM out. When it reboots, put the SIM back in and wait a bit. If the Gevey message doesn't pop up, go to Settings -> Phone -> SIM Applications (or something like that, I don't have it in front of me, but I trust you should be able to find it) and push English.
From what I remember, that's how you "kick start" the Gevey on iOS5 for manual mode.

If that doesn't work, I dunno what to tell you. Buying another Gevey might be a waste of money...so I dunno. Hopefully the above works though