iPhone Gevey unlock questions

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by martell, May 23, 2013.

  1. martell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    #1
    I have an Iphone 4S on firmware 6.1.3 and modem firmware 3.4.03. I decided to unlock it using a Gevey Ultra turbo sim.
    The process worked flawlessly and the phone is now unlocked. I have discovered that if I put back in the original sim tray and sim from the carrier that the phone was locked to I cannot get any signal on the phone but using the gevey sim it works fine. Is this normal after using a gevey sim.
    I then tried to restore the phone in Itunes just to see would it lose the unlock and work with the ordinary sim tray.
    First of all I tried restoring from a back up and got a message saying that there was not enough space on the phone even though there is 2.1Gb free. I then tried a full restore and got error -1. Does anyone know whats the best way to get past that error or will I never be able to restore the phone to the condition it was before I unlocked it.
     
  2. braxton34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #2
    Have you tried putting the phone in DFU mode and then restoring?

    I've never heard of a GEVEY causing the problems you have described...
     
  3. martell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    #3
    Yes I put it into dfu mode last night and it restored ok but I think I had a problem also with the hosts file as well so that could have had something to do with it. .
    What I was really wondering was it normal not to get a signal after unlocking with the gevey when I insert the original sim tray and sim. In other words if you unlock with a gevey do you have to continue using the gevey in order to get a signal using any sim.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    In order to unlock with gevey the gevey sim adapter has to always be inside the phone for the unlock to keep functioning.
    Once you take the adapter out the phone is back to being locked to the original carrier.
     
  5. martell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    #5
    What happened to me was when I put back in the sim from the original carrier without the gevey I was getting no signal but when I used the sim from the original carrier with the gevey it worked ok. I thought the sim from the original carrier should work without the gevey if the phone goes back to being locked to the original carrier but maybe thats not the case.
     
  6. braxton34 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #6
    In my experience, the original carrier SIM should work fine without the Gevey and it shouldn't work with the Gevey.
    Are you sure the phone is locked to the carrier that you think it is?

    That's a weird one...
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    The original locked carriers sim should work fine if the gevey is not inserted.
    Maybe try a restart after you remove the gevey and try again.
     
  8. martell thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    #8
    Thanks guys, either way it doesn't bother me was just wondering which way it should be.
     

Share This Page