gfortran pluggin problems

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DanSandberg, May 15, 2008.

  1. DanSandberg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #1
    Hi All - I downloaded the gfortran pluggin for xcode from http://macresearch.org/xcode_gfortran_plugin_update. I can see the pluggin in /usr/local/bin but the 'gfortran' command is not available in my terminal. How do I make this application available from the command line in any shell without moving the application to /bin/ ? -- thanks, Dan
     
  2. chem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    Dan,

    The gfortran plugin is meant to be used through xcode. You still still need a gfortran compiler on your system; I prefer to install mine through macports. I detail installation of the compiler, plugin, and other things at my leopard clean install guide, here:

    http://yocto.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/personal-installation-of-os-x-1052/

    installing the gcc42 +fortran package via macports will get you that gfortran at a terminal command line. or gcc43.

    good luck. hope this helps!
     
  3. Am3822 macrumors 6502

    Am3822

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    #3
    What version of Xcode / OS X do you have? To the best of my knowledge the plugin's installer (at least in the later versions) includes the gfortran binary (for PPC and Intel). Also, I don't think the plugin's files reside in /usr/local/bin, but in some Xcode-related directory -- so it's more than likely that you're seeing the compiler binary in /usr/local/bin.

    Please note that there's a newer version of the plugin, which is supposed to work with Xcode 3.0 -- http://www.macresearch.org/new-gfortran-builds-available
     
  4. DanSandberg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #4
    Hi chem and AM3822 -

    Those suggestions help. I am running 10.4.11 on my G5 and I have Xcode v2.5. Perhaps it would be simpler to take the plunge and finally upgrade to Leopard? I'm actually more of a physicist / electrical engineer for my research group but I've been designated the pseudo-computer guy due to lack of a better candidate. I'm nervous upgrading to Leopard will create compatibility problems with some of the commonly used lab software. If I can get this CHARMM fortran program to compile without upgrading to Leopard that would be excellent.

    Thanks,
    Dan
     
  5. Am3822 macrumors 6502

    Am3822

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    #5
    Dan,

    I see that CHARMM is a computational chemistry code. In that case, I think that you really should post your query at macresearch.org -- a good many people there (including the owner/founder) are chemistry people and would be able to offer you a lot of help and support.

    Regards,

    Am3822.
     

Share This Page