Gh3

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by andy.tallman, Nov 8, 2007.

  1. andy.tallman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #1
    Is it true that Guitar Hero 3 will not be able to be played on my MacBookPro?
     
  2. Doraemon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #2
  3. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    no.
     
  4. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #4
    Why not?

     
  5. twistedlegato macrumors 65816

    twistedlegato

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #5
    When he said no, he declined the OP's statement, meaning he said it should work.
     
  6. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #6
    Oh I understand now. I definitely misread the OP.
     
  7. andy.tallman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #7
    Thanks

    ok thanks.. i just read at the bottom that there were no intel chips allowed, and i misunderstood it

    Thanks.. and btw.. when does it get released?
     
  8. hankolerd macrumors 6502

    hankolerd

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    It was supposed to release alongside the console release, but Aspyr said it was possible that it would be a couple weeks behind. IGN Used to say Oct. 29th, but now they are stating Nov. 12th, I expect it to be out then, which would be monday.

    sorry if my 'no.' statement was confusing :D:apple:
     
  9. MacMan210 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
  10. holybatfart macrumors member

    holybatfart

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Location:
    Johio
    #10
    It won't support intel graphic chips so no.
     
  11. yukon0013 macrumors regular

    yukon0013

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #11
    Im hoping someone on here will risk it and buy Guitar Hero 3 to try on their macbook because i really! want it, and i am hoping it will magically work .. and seeing that i dont have any sort of game console the macbook is my only hope!!
     
  12. TheStranger55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #12
    Quick question is the game a PC/Mac hybrid disk or are there separate PC and Mac versions?

    Thanks.
     
  13. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    Not 100% sure but I think I heard it was hybrid. (which is sweet BTW)
     
  14. Einherjar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    #14
    The copy I bought tonight at Best Buy is not hybrid. :(

    The Mac version is still not yet released. I'm hoping that I'll be able to get with Aspyr to obtain the Mac installer once it's out.

    I can't be otherwise helpful on questions, because I'm running a Mac Pro and don't have any other modern Macs to run it on. It's a pretty demanding game though; at some points with a lot of stuff going on, framerate dips kinda low in Windows even with the newest Catalysts. This is on a quad 2.6 with matched 2GB and an X1900, running on high at 1680x1050. However, that's not really a problem as they seem to have written it so that the audio and notes mostly remain constant even with the background video dipping into a bad framerate.

    Hopefully the story is the same for those on the opposite end of the spectrum; as long as the audio and notes don't get messed up by dips in performance, everything should be chill.
     

Share This Page