Ghost in my Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nerdynerdynerdy, Jul 26, 2015.

  1. nerdynerdynerdy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 1,1. It's been a reliable old work horse for the last nine years or so, but in the last fortnight it's exhibited some worrying behaviour.

    First one of my internal drives started playing up, which I isolated by realising that when editing with media on that drive, Avid would freeze up. Moving media off that drive and not using it has resolved that problem.

    However, on a couple of occasions the computer has restarted without warning. Straight to black monitors and the startup chime plays. Once or twice it has happened while the computer was starting up, and another time just as I was about to start working.

    It hasn't happened after the computer has been on for a while.

    But once I left the machine alone for an hour or two, came back to find an unusual error message on the screen, which was a semi-transparant grey box (not a normal dialog box window with OK button) telling me I needed to restart the machine by holding down the power button for five seconds (or something to that effect). The message was in about five different languages.


    So what do you all think? Is this Mac Pro telling me it's time to buy a new one? Or is it maybe related to the dicky drive?

    Advise away!
     
  2. bbrks macrumors 65816

    bbrks

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #2
    Well, after 9 long years......don't you think it's about time for a new one....
     
  3. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
    Mine will be nine next month. All the RAM has been replaced in 2013 with new cooler FBDIMMs. Around that time put in 5770, my 4th GPU upgrade (7300, 8800, some PC cards - GTX 9800, 260, 8600 that I'll lump as one for running Vista and 7).

    Drives have gone from WD Raptor to VelociRaptor and thru various SSDs (SATA II then 840s) until I arrived at XP941. Those for system. Data has generally been WD Black 1TB.

    The unit has been on 1500VA all this time, cleaned with DATA-Vac from time to time.

    And with each new OS, a clean install.

    So no I don't see it as ready for retirement or crippled other than if you need Yosemite and don't want to use one of the fixes, or you do something today that it cannot handle and 5355 won't either. I think GPU choice can be a factor.

    Behind the "it isn't working" and get to the nuts and bolts and figure out "Why."
     
  4. DUCKofD3ATH Suspended

    DUCKofD3ATH

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    Universe 0 Timeline
    #4
    That's one of the liquid-cooled Mac Pros, right? If so, open it up and look for signs of leaking. If the coolant is dripping on the circuit boards, you'll see all kinds of odd behavior.
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    The G5s Quad and 2.7DP were the last with LCS.
     
  6. Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There
    #6
    The last of the g5's had liquid cooling, and were notoriously bad at keeping their guts.
    the 1.1 mac pro was back to fans.
     
  7. nerdynerdynerdy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #7
    Yes, I've been looking into it. Either a low to mid level Mac Pro or a fully specced out iMac 5k. But not sure which way to go with this.

    I'm not quite technically minded enough to know where to start with this. I do have time machine backing up every day so not too concerned about losing data. However my Avid v5 setup is a little sensitive to updating, as Avid v6 onwards is 64 bit and my Mac Pro is 32 bit. When I last upgraded everything I ended up getting cornered into the version of OS and Avid and Matrox drivers.

    I guess what I'm saying is that I'm wary of uninstalling everything and starting again as I don't want to find I can't get OSx back to the same point.

    (I have a laptop running Yosemite and Avid v8, but it's not a qualified combination and I couldn't find a download for Mavericks which is what that setup is meant to be using. Apple seem to make it hard for an average user like me to pick the exact OS version I want.)
     
  8. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #8
  9. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #9
    I have a slightly younger 1,1, upgraded to 2,1 FW and CPU's. Still going strong as my backup system. I suspect the most likely scenario given your situation is a bad drive corrupting system data.

    I would get a new drive (SSD) and install fresh. Reinstall applications, do not migrate - at least the key ones. Then run it and look for instability.
     
  10. nerdynerdynerdy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #10
    I like the look of that. I could boot off a USB and keep working if my internal fails?

    Is the only difference between this and time machine the fact it makes a bootable backup?


    So my symptoms sound like my boot drive failing? That would be preferable to a hardware fault.

    Since the 1,1 is worth so little on the used market, I'd like to keep it as a spare edit machine once I move to a new Mac Pro or iMac.

    Is it easy to install an SSD? I've installed conventional hard drives due to the easy to use internals of the Mac Pro; great design for an amateur like me.
     
  11. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #11
    You have three avenues, and yes it is easy.

    Native drive bay or ODD ports. Even at 250MB/sec feels like butter and performs like 60 mph in 4 seconds. EVO 250GB 850 $98 + IcyDock $14 (Amazon)

    SATA III PCIe 500MB/sec Apricorn Velocity - be sure it is for 1,1

    XP941 + Lycom adapter - fastest game in town 700-1100MB/sec depending on size/capacity is the most expensive.
     
  12. nerdynerdynerdy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #12

    Thanks for this.

    Would you mind pointing me at some listings of these so I know I'm buying the correct bits?
     
  13. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #13
    Drives are the most likely to fail. Have you checked the entries in the console logs? I also use Smart Reporter on all my systems with spinning platters.
     
  14. Duane Dibbley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    #14
    That sounds like a kernel panic.
     

Share This Page