Ghz and Core Speed Confusion

Drifty_Child

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 12, 2017
USA
Hi, I'm a noob when it come to hardware. Would a MBP with quad-core and 2.6ghz be slower than a MBP with 6-code and 2.2ghz? How can I know by looking at the numbers?

Edit: For reference, I am a game designer, using Unity and adobe products, and I'm trying to compare the 2018 MBP with my current 2012 model.

Last edited:

OriginalAppleGuy

macrumors 6502a
Sep 25, 2016
Virginia
With multi-core processors, it will depend on how they are architected. Many things come in to play with how fast a computer will operate. Processors are one thing. Memory and it's speed, video and it's memory/speed and the thing that ties it all together is the bus speed. You can have the fastest components but if the bus speed is low, they will be limited in their potential.

But to answer your question specifically, the 6-core i9 will be faster than the 4-core i7. The 15" has more space for many things and will be the more powerful machine. If, however, the 13" is more affordable and works with what you are looking to do, nothing wrong with it.

Drifty_Child

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 12, 2017
USA
Thanks for the rundown. Actually, I'm trying to compare the 2018 MBP with my current 2012 MBP, which has the 4-core i7.

darksithpro

macrumors 6502a
Oct 27, 2016
Hi, I'm a noob when it come to hardware. Would a MBP with quad-core and 2.6ghz be slower than a MBP with 6-code and 2.2ghz? How can I know by looking at the numbers?

The current offerings will all be perfectly sufficient. CPU's are so fast in today's world you'd really only notice it if you're doing inetensive tasks using professional programs such as Adobe using a stop watch. Even then the faster, more expensive options would only shed seconds, or minutes off practical render times. For average use you will not notice a difference. Even in games the difference would only be single didget frame rate changes for practical purposes.