Gigabit Ethernet on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by EthanXC1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. EthanXC1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I got my MacBook back in June and have been using wifi since. I'm now going to college and want to use an ethernet cable. I found a cable in my house that fits in the ethernet port in my MacBook. If the cable fits, does that mean it is a gigabit ethernet cable?
     
  2. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #2
    99% chance of yes
    with a 1% chance of showers or snow
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    If it fits, it is just fitting and having an Ethernet plug. It could be a 10/100 Ethernet cable or it could be a Gigabit cable. What does it say on the side of the cable?
    CAT5, CAT5 + or CAT6?

    Gigabit cable:

    [​IMG]


    Ethernet cable:

    [​IMG]


    The difference is only the colour, but the colour does not show what kind of cable it is.
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    It's a standard Ethernet port that all your generic PC's have too.

    The only thing your provider has any discrepancy over, is the speed.

    Gigabit Ethernet simply means Ethernet capable of 1-gigabit-per-second speeds. So even if it was a slower port, it would still be capable of using the network, but would be limited to either megabit or kilobit speeds.

    But to answer your question, every MacBook Pro has gigabit Ethernet.
     
  5. ccashman92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #5
    The color has nothing to do with the cable speed/type.
     
  6. EthanXC1 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #6
    Thanks for the help. Turns out my cable isn't gigabit, but it seems like that would be overkill for me right now anyway. I plugged the cable in and got 30 down on my home connection (which I believe is our max). I doubt my college will have anything faster so the cable I have should do the job.
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Should have worded it better as it seems?

    The problem might be in that part:
    Should have said: The difference in the above picture is only the colour, ...
     

Share This Page