Gigabyte r9 280x mac rom

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
Hi all!
please help me, i search a working mac rom for Gb r9 280x card
Sorry the bad english

Thank you
 

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary

MIKX

macrumors 65816
Dec 16, 2004
1,178
445
Japan
Google Translate ": English to Hungarian https://translate.google.com/m/translate#view=home&op=translate&sl=en&tl=hu

Edit a sample bundle script to suit your own Gigabyte R9 280X which I think is the same as the HD 7970.

1. Set your BIOS switch to position 2 ( right side )

2. Boot into Win 7 ( easiest )

3. Download GPU-Z & use it to DUMP your ROM

4. Save your DUMPED ROM somewhere safe.

5. Boot into OS X

5.1 Use the " Bundle2.zip " included in this post.

6. make a copy of your DUMPED ROM and rename it to " cardname.rom "

7. Now you can edit the Bundle script but use the 7970.mac.efi & efiromheader_7970.rom.

============================================

Here is an example from my efi flashedHD 7970

Mikes-Mac-Pro:bundle2 mikejones$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7970mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader_7970.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=6798
 

Attachments

Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: chenull

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
Google Translate ": English to Hungarian https://translate.google.com/m/translate#view=home&op=translate&sl=en&tl=hu

Edit a sample bundle script to suit your own Gigabyte R9 280X which I think is the same as the HD 7970.

1. Set your BIOS switch to position 2 ( right side )

2. Boot into Win 7 ( easiest )

3. Download GPU-Z & use it to DUMP your ROM

4. Save your DUMPED ROM somewhere safe.

5. Boot into OS X

5.1 Use the " Bundle2.zip " included in this post.

6. make a copy of your DUMPED ROM and rename it to " cardname.rom "

7. Now you can edit the Bundle script but use the 7970.mac.efi & efiromheader_7970.rom.

============================================

Here is an example from my efi flashedHD 7970

Mikes-Mac-Pro:bundle2 mikejones$ ./makerom.sh --efifile=7970mac.efi --romfile=efiromheader_7970.rom --originalrom=cardname.rom --devid=6798

thank you very much

I try it out tonight
 

MIKX

macrumors 65816
Dec 16, 2004
1,178
445
Japan
Krisz

I have installed Win 7 on it's own dedicated spinner HDD.
I boot with Option key pressed and there is a long wait for Win 7 to start up but it WORKS ( I hate Boocamp and I rarely ever use Windows for anything else except for flashing video cards.= Utálom a Boocamp-ot, és ritkán használom a Windows-ot mást, csak a villogó videokártyák kivételével.
 

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
Krisz

I have installed Win 7 on it's own dedicated spinner HDD.
I boot with Option key pressed and there is a long wait for Win 7 to start up but it WORKS ( I hate Boocamp and I rarely ever use Windows for anything else except for flashing video cards.= Utálom a Boocamp-ot, és ritkán használom a Windows-ot mást, csak a villogó videokártyák kivételével.
I have windows 8.1 installed without boot camp
the boot camp wrote that my machine did not support (mojave)
Sometimes I play and just use the windows, I do not like it anyway
 

MIKX

macrumors 65816
Dec 16, 2004
1,178
445
Japan
You put the device ID as 6783 .. . it should be 6798.

Look for other examples in the Netkas thread.
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
12,771
5,579
Hong Kong
Thanks

unfortunately I can not do it:( I do not know how to use the bundle software.
the description does not help because I can not interpret it :(
Did you read my link? That’s a spoon feed step by step guide with screen captures.

If you can’t follow that, my suggestion is to stop here. If you accidentally brick the card. It will be extremely hard for us to teach you how to unbrick it.
 

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
Did you read my link? That’s a spoon feed step by step guide with screen captures.

If you can’t follow that, my suggestion is to stop here. If you accidentally brick the card. It will be extremely hard for us to teach you how to unbrick it.
I did it as it is written but it is not good for something
what has been saved from the card where it should be copied? you may not find it?
I'll see if I can find a video about how to do it
 

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
12,771
5,579
Hong Kong

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary

Attachments

h9826790

macrumors G5
Apr 3, 2014
12,771
5,579
Hong Kong
Tank you
may have succeeded!?
so far it was the trouble of missing the "cd" command
now i have to get the rom file you need to download with the atiwinflash program?
Doesn't looks good. There should be no "space" in any drive / folder name.

The drive should be "UNTITLED" in your case, but for some reason, in terminal, it showed "UNTITLED 1". The space between UNTITLED and 1 causing an error.

If you compare your outcome to mine (inside that link), you will see the contents are different. If your case, there is a "no such file or directory", which causing the failure.

May be you can re-format the drive, and do that again (make sure you copy the ROM image and the script to a safe position before you format that drive)
 
Last edited:

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
No doesn't looks good. There should be no "space" in any drive / folder name.

The drive should be "UNTITLED" in your case, but for some reason, in terminal, it should "UNTITLED 1". The space between UNTITLED and 1 causing an error.

If you compare your out to my out (inside that link), you will see the contents are different. If your case, there is a "no such file or directory", which causing the failure.

May be you can re-format the drive, and do that again (make sure you copy the ROM image and the script to a safe position before you format that drive)

I did it again
 

Attachments

MIKX

macrumors 65816
Dec 16, 2004
1,178
445
Japan
Krisz

Gratulálunk ! ( Congratulations )

Most más magyar Mac Pro tulajdonosokra is taníthat. :)
Now you can teach other Hungarian Mac Pro owners.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Krisz

Krisz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2018
11
3
Hungary
Krisz

Gratulálunk ! ( Congratulations )

Most más magyar Mac Pro tulajdonosokra is taníthat. :)
Now you can teach other Hungarian Mac Pro owners.
thanks

if someone has such a problem then i will help :)