Gimme gtx780m tests!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Tjosansa, Oct 9, 2013.

  1. Tjosansa macrumors regular

    Tjosansa

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    #1
    Wanna see a test between iMac late 2012 gtx680mx vs iMac late 2013 gtx780m.
    Mostly in games.
    Cant find any.
     
  2. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Indeed.
    Barefeats has some indication (see Diablo III) but not enough shootouts yet...

    I'll be getting my i7 with 780M later in the week. I will be testing X-Plane on it vs. my good ol' Mac Pro '08 with Radeon HD 7950.

    I will share the results of real life X-Plane 10 with a H U G E amount of add-ons!
     
  3. Tjosansa thread starter macrumors regular

    Tjosansa

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    #3
    Thanx. That was a nice read :)
     
  4. Nicolai Aleks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    #4
    I look forward to.
    Especially interested in whether there is a difference 780m/775m Alienware in the iMac, I think that in the iMac may be cutting back on the frequency.
     
  5. caneman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #5
    Did you fly it yet? Very curious to see your results.
     
  6. elithrar macrumors 6502

    elithrar

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #6
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=18183445&postcount=25

    Some 3DMark11 scores there, and some Tomb Raider ones too:

    (as I said in that thread, "dependable" benchmarks for real games are hard: many games don't offer benchmarking tools)
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Yep.

    Love my new iMac.

    I did a few simple comparisons between these two Macs:

    1. Mac Pro '08, 8 x 2.8 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Radeon 7950 Mac Edition 3 GB VRAM, SSD-boot, X-Plane 10 on 2nd internal HDD.
    2. iMac '24, i7 3.5 Ghz (3.9 turbo), 32 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 780M 4 GB VRAM, SSD-boot including X-Plane 10.

    The Mac Pro was running the first versions of Mavericks GM
    The iMac the "real" GM, i.e. 13A603
    I used for the comparison 1920 x 1200 resolution (as that is the monitor setup on the Mac Pro)

    First of all, my real-life environment in X-Plane 10 is as follows:
    - Loading the default 747-400 (with KLM livery)
    - Pay-ware Schiphol Airport (EHAM)
    - ZL17 photo scenery of Amsterdam
    - Also loaded in this scenery: EHRD, EHEV and ZL17 photo scenery of Rotterdam, Domburg, Eindhoven, Utrecht, Enschede)
    - 15 extra AI aircraft (using Morten's specialised AI aircraft)
    - Worldtraffic 1.1.6 with EHAM ground routes
    These settings use about 2.5 GB of VRAM.

    These extra's make my X-Plane experience totally different from most online tests like Barefeats.

    These are my results:
    1. Daytime rendering: Mac Pro: 21 FPS, new iMac: 30 FPS.
    It's obvious that the CPU was the bottleneck on the old Mac Pro. The new iMac can even up the settings quite a lot and still keep the same FPS, even at the higher resolution of the 27" iMac.
    The new iMac is a huge benefit!
    2. Nighttime rendering Mac Pro: 20 FPS, new iMac 19 FPS...
    This one is strange. On sway or another nighttime rendering is worse on the new iMac.
    I assume that GTX 780M or the drivers are to blame here.
     
  8. Tjosansa thread starter macrumors regular

    Tjosansa

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    #8
    I made a quick fps test in Battlefield 4 now. All native and settings on Ultra gave med 30 fps.. on High it gave me 40 fps. in battles.
     
  9. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Here are some screenshots of X-Plane 10, with pay-ware Schiphol (EHAM) and ZL17 photo-sceenery of Holland loaded.

    Top left in the screen is the FPS count.

    Also attached my settings. There you can also see the VRAM used (at the bottom)
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      794.1 KB
      Views:
      126
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      773 KB
      Views:
      86
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      812.3 KB
      Views:
      62
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      763.7 KB
      Views:
      80
    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      277.5 KB
      Views:
      87
  10. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    On the GTX 780M ?

    Mutiplayer or single player ?
     
  11. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #11
    I will be very interested in more results of X Plane 10. Have you ever used more than 3 GB of video RAM?

    I am running X Plane 10 on an early Core i7 Hackintosh with a video card of 1 GB, and I am probably going to build another Hack with a GTX 780. My current Hack has 6 GB RAM, the new one will probably have 16 GB. But, I wonder if it is really necessary to have more than 8 GB.
     
  12. Tjosansa thread starter macrumors regular

    Tjosansa

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    #12
    Multiplayer. 64 player server.. High is even more than 40 fps.. lets say 40-50
    yup on the gtx 780m.
     
  13. Serban Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    #13
    its impressive High+1440p..on my friend (that has 680MX)we never get over 40fps on these settings. So still a game that is made to use all of that vRam of your gpu make the 780M superior to 680MX like 10% right?

    high settings at 1440p in battles my friend get 38-40fps
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    The maximum amount of VRAM I have used was close to 2.9 GB. See screenshots. This is by far the most extreme scenery I can load (most extreme there is...), and thus with my favourite settings I reach around 20 FPS.
    On the ol' Mac Pro I got max 15 FPS (with lower res, and slightly lower settings)

    Note that texture compression is turned "ON", otherwise VRAM consumption can be double (!).

    I reach that when I load "New York":
    - Pay-ware KJFK, KLGA, and also freeware KEWR.
    - ZL17 Photo scenery of New York
    - Converted ManhattanX
    - 15 extra AI aircaft (Morten's)

    RAM consumption of X-Plane 10 alone can easily exceed 8 GB. If you want RAM not to be an issue, I strongly advise 16 GB RAM total.
    12 GB is probably enough, but then no other app next to X-Plane 10 can use much RAM.
    See my RAM consumption below too.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      1 MB
      Views:
      83
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      887.1 KB
      Views:
      67
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      521.3 KB
      Views:
      54
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      316.5 KB
      Views:
      55
  15. caneman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    #15
    Hey ... thanks so much for posting these. I have an older iMac (late 2009). There's absolutely nothing wrong with it ... other than I can't fly xplane 10. I'm trying to decide whether to get a new souped-up 27" iMac ... or wait until the specs come out for the new Mac Pro. Good to see with your set-up ... that you can fly at decent frame rates.
     
  16. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #16
    Thanks for that info about the RAM. Will install 16 GB for sure. My research tells me that the 780 GTX is a lot more robust than the GTX 780M. What are your thoughts on this?
     
  17. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    The "full-blown" GTX is indeed far more powerful than the mobile (M) version.

    X-Plane 10 will love it, as long as your CPU is fast enough, i.e. later generation i5 / i7 Quad Core > 3 GHz.
     
  18. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #18
    Core i7 Haswell 3.5 Ghz teamed up with the GTX 780 should work fairly well, don't you think?
     
  19. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    That would do fine!! :)
     
  20. StefanG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013

Share This Page