Giving a massage certificate as a anniversary present?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by .JahJahwarrior., Sep 20, 2009.

1. .JahJahwarrior. macrumors 6502

I've been dating this gal for a year, and am planning a date to celebrate that fact. I think I'll take her to some swan boats at a local lake I can rent for a half hour and then we'll go to a nearby vegan cafe to eat. Lately, she's been complaining of pain in her back from boxing, and I give her a massage, but I'm no expert, so I was thinking about paying for her to go in for a massage session with a professional, and that would give me time to go pick up some food to make it a picnic instead. But that might be kind of weird, spa things are something I could see myself giving her if we were married and like, 50... Any girls here been given a professional massage from their boyfriends and thought it was sweet?

2. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

tofagerl

Out of the blue it would be a tad weird, but if she has back pains it just seems like you listened to her and care :)

//Not a girl

3. dmr727 macrumors G3

dmr727

It depends on the personality of the girl, but I've gifted a day at the spa, and it seemed really well received.

4. flyguy206 macrumors 6502a

It is a good gift. Most women love stuff like that

5. .JahJahwarrior. thread starter macrumors 6502

It wouldn't be a day at the spa, it'd be a 30 minute back and neck deep tissue massage....

I've got two options,
    Spa Type Place
    Medical Type Place

Spa type place might be more romantic, but it'd be a 25 minute neck and shoulder massage.

Medical type place might do a better job at the massage, it'd be a 30 minute deep tissue sports massage.

6. AngryApple macrumors 6502

I don't think she will mind. I, on the other hand, hate having my hair done or nails done. If I had a boyfriend and he got me a certificate for a massage I really would not enjoy it. So as long as your girlfriend is not like me I think you'll be fine.