Giving wife my iPhone 6 after upgrade what do I need to do?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thesheleys, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. thesheleys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #1
    So I would want to do the following? These are all Verizon phones....

    1. Take the SIM out of my 6 and put it in the new 6S. Turn it on. Does this do all of the activation then of the new phone?

    2. Take the SIM out of the 5 and put it in the 6. Turn it on

    3. Take the original new SIM from the 6S and put it in the 5. I want to activate the 5 again for my daughter as a new line and the SIM from the 6S should be a new blank SIM.

    If I do the 1st step does that mess anything up because the 6S is an upgrade to the 6? I usually just activate it with the new SIM card that is in it that is why all the questions.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
  3. byrdjr222 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #3
    I can't speak to Verizon as I have AT&T but just a heads up. You may have to activate the new phone with the new sim card but I am not 100% sure. if you used your upgrade to get the 6S, then I am almost positive this is the case, but I could be wrong.

    If this is the case, then you would have to get a new sim card for the phone for your daughter. But since this is going to be a new line, I don't see you having an issue with this.
     
  4. thesheleys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #4
    That is what I was thinking also. Thanks!
     
  5. thesheleys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #5
    Can't do that she will want to watch it! :)
     
  6. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #6
    Wow, you have a cool wife.
     
  7. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #7
    You should activate the new phone first then start switching around the sim cards. I would change back up each phone then restore from the back up so they don't lose any data or apps.
     
  8. Travisimo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #8
    That may work, but it sounds yucky and could possibly cause some headaches getting it all worked properly. Here's what I would do (I'm also on AT&T, but it should be similar for Verizon):

    1) Back up your current iPhone 6 to iCloud or iTunes. Activate new phone with included SIM. It will already be assigned to the right number and should activate very quickly. Restore from iCloud or iTunes (or set up as new device if you wish instead). With that done, you'll have your 6S going right away with your own number.

    2) Remove old sim from your iPhone 6 and factory reset it. Make sure to sign out of iCloud, which will turn off Find My iPhone. I also turn off iMessage/Facetime just to be sure. This will erase the iPhone 6, making it ready to use for your wife.

    3) Back up your wife's iPhone 5 to iCloud or iTunes. Take the sim from her iPhone 5 and put it in the iPhone 6 that has just be factory reset. It should activate with your wife's number and sim, at which time she can do a restore from iCloud or iTunes and be good to go.

    4) Once her phone is good to go, factory reset her old iPhone 5 (also signing out of iCloud). Either take it to Verizon or perhaps call them to have it activated on a new line of service. You might be able to use the old sim from your iPhone 6 (which should be deactivated once you activated with the new sim included with your 6S). More than likely though, Verizon will want you to get a new sim for the new line, so I'd suggest just taking it in.

    I think that would be the best course of action, but this is based on my knowledge of AT&T, not Verizon so YMMV. I think the sim swap method you described could possibly work, but from my experience, doing it that way just causes problems and delays. Good luck!
     
  9. thesheleys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    #9
    Thanks. I think I am going to do exactly this!
     

Share This Page