Glossy vs Matte BS

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by wolfattack, Mar 1, 2008.

1. wolfattack macrumors member

So, i feel like there is some BS going around on the whole glossy vs matte thing.

People say the matte screen is more color accurate, but if you calibrate a glossy screen, how will it be any less accurate than a matte?

If i am missing something, i hope someone can correct me, because I am a graphic designer who has been working on a glossy laptop (pc) for 2 years, and i've always thought it was fine if i calibrate my screen. I know macs are different, so i could be assuming too much, but I just ordered my first macbook pro, and picked the hi-res glossy screen, and will be doing 90% graphic design work on it. Can you not calibrate the screen or something?

I am not trying to sound like a smartass or something, honestly i just don't know if something is flying over my head that I am not getting. I still have time to cancel and reorder the matte if so.

thanks!

2. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

Hls811

I don't think its so much an issue of color accuracy as much as it is color reality.

I do agree that if you calibrate then the accuracy should be there, but I think the glossy adds an extra 'shine' to something that you don't see with the naked eye.

Lets say you went outside and took a picture of a tree, and then looked at it on a properly calibrated Glossy and Matte screen, while the colors might both accurately represent the live tree outside the matte would look more realistic because you tend to see things a little flatter than glossier..

I don't know if that makes sense - like I said its hard to explain. I'm not trying to knock glossy - I think it looks great, but I think matte has the ability to look more realistic.

3. Chitoneus macrumors member