GO PHONE- sim card in iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by alexdog, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. alexdog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #1
    ok i REALLY need some help

    can i put my PAY AS YOU GO sim card into a 2nd gen iphone. would i need to have someone do it for me??? i mostly just need to know if its possible. i dont want 3g mobile internet i just use texting calling and wifi.

    i have an itouch right now but my normal phone is nearing the end of its life. i can find an iphone for about 150 used on craigslist and if it is possible i want to get this done. i already have people that will buy my itouch so any advice is greatly apreciated!

    thanks so much:)
     
  2. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #2
    you can... but I believe you will be charged for Data... I would contact ATT and double check with them... I wouldn't want to have unknown charges
     
  3. alexdog thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #3
    thanks ill contact attt and see whats up. what kind of additional charges do you think?
     
  4. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #4
    You'll need to have them disable data to your line. They won't do this if the appearing IMEI is an iPhone, so don't call AT&T unless you have the SIM in some other cheap phone to fool the system. If you ask for help with an iPhone appearing on your account, they won't be able to help you and may possibly blacklist the account. If you don't get data disabled on your line, you will be charged one cent per kilobyte.
     
  5. thecoolone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #5
    Would this only be if you used safari, mail, and any other web application? Is it possible to just use your iPhone as a iPod with wifi even with the Sim in or would you have to take the sim out everytime?
     
  6. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #6
    Once you'd disconnect from the wifi network, you'd go to cell unless you had it blocked.
     
  7. thecoolone1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #7
    I do indeed have a Nokia phone the sim is in now, so would I just call at&t and have them turn data off the line and give them the IMEI of the Nokia phone?
     
  8. alexdog thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #9
    so your saying i should call att and tell them i want to disable the (?????!) i think im understanding this.
     
  9. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #10
    You would pop the SIM in the Nokia and call 611 from that phone. Then they wouldn't notice an iPhone on your account and would be able to block data access.
     

Share This Page