Goal: MBA with External HDD booting Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dcschwartz, Nov 10, 2013.

1. Dcschwartz macrumors newbie

Hello - I know this question has been asked in some form or another before, but I wanted to get some fresh insight on this, especially considering the release of Mavericks.

I have a 2013 MBA (128GB) and I would like to play the occasional Windows-only Steam game from time to time. I'm moderately-tech savvy, but I don't have an entire day to dedicate to figuring out Wine, so its either Bootcamp or nothing for me. I have about 75 free GB's on my internal HDD, so doing a bootcamp partition on the internal HDD is possible, but it doesn't seem like I should if I want to keep sufficient room available in both the OSX and Windows partitions.

So, it comes down to this: Can I use an external HDD in any way to run Windows?

I have plenty of HDDs lying around, access to a 2010 MBP (relevant since my MBA doesn't have a disc drive) and I should be able to get a copy of Windows XP from work (or I just buy a new license).

If the answer is no, and I am forced to partition my internal drive to do this, is it possible to run the windows files (in this case, Steam and the Windows-only game) from the HDD? What would be the minimum that I can partition?

And if the answer is still no, any other ideas?

I guess in retrospect I should have just dropped the extra $ 200 and upgraded to 256 GB. It seemed too expensive at the time and I wasn't into computer games until I got the MBA. I'll live!

Thanks for your help!

2. Livewings macrumors regular

Yes it is possible.
    I've used this tutorial since I got my MBA in June.

Now I'm running Windows 8.1 on my E-HDD.

You need a Windows PC to begin with this tutorial

http://blog.exchange-addict.com/2013/02/windows-to-go-uefi-only_19.html

3. Dcschwartz thread starter macrumors newbie