GoDaddy + Private Server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Zyniker, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. Zyniker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    Does anyone have experience with configuring the DNS settings with GoDaddy to enable access to a private server?

    Basically, I want domain.com to resolve to my IP address so that I can access my server (and its services) when I am away from home. Any help will be appreciated!
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    I have my server setup that way and it works well. I have a Dynamic IP from Comcast but since it changes so rarely I just update the DNS when it changes. I have several sites hosted and lots of services.

    You just need to setup a domain and then using Total DNS Control (on the godaddy site) to point to your IP address for the A (host) record.
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Well for a dynamic IP, you can use dyndns to update your dynamic IP; you can also get change the nameservers to dyndns for $30 a year and then all the DNS is handled by dyndns.

    As with Comcast, not matter how hard I try I can't get rid of their stupid helper service. Tried opting out a dozen times.
     
  5. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    so is it pretty easy to do? what about a mail server and mx records? i might end up setting this up one day if it's not that difficult (and it's pretty cheap)
     
  6. seattle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #6
    I have not setup a mail server yet but it looks like fairly easy to setup the records with Godaddy's Domain manager.
     
  7. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    thanks. i might just do this one day when i have time to really think it out.
     
  8. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #8
    I use zoneedit for my dns needs. Even allows for mx records all for free.
     
  9. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #9
    Same here. I have GoDaddy for my registrar and ZoneEdit for my DNS records. GoDaddy had no problem with my request for this setup. They just asked me what external DNS servers I would use and I gave them the two that ZoneEdit had assigned to me. Knowing GoDaddy, I'm guessing there is a fee for using their DNS solution on top of the registrar fee for your domain.
     
  10. GoDaddyGuy macrumors newbie

    GoDaddyGuy

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #10
    Zyniker,

    Go Daddy gives you full DNS control. If you have a static IP, all you need to do is set up your IP address in our DNS manager. See more about that here: http://help.godaddy.com/article/678

    We don't control dynamic dns. If you have a dynamic IP, you can check out the other services mentioned and update your nameservers in the Domain Manager. You can see more about that here: http://help.godaddy.com/article/664

    I did also want to mention that there are no fees involved for using Go Daddy's DNS services.
     
  11. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #11
    What I would do:

    For dynamic IP's:

    Go to dyndns.com and set up a subdomain on their site to your house. Does not matter what it is you just need it later.

    Go to godaddy and set a cname record to the subdomain from earlier. Set it as the domain without the www. and with the www.

    Install dyndns updater on your server to get it to update

    Static IP:

    A record to your house IP with the www. and without the www.
     

Share This Page