Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Thornblom

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2011
Wonderful!

My 2019 15 inch 512/32gb has arrived.
Coming from a 2011 15 inch model, I could not be happier.

Touch ID - Love it.
Keyboard - Personally, I think it is a huge upgrade from the old mushy keyboard (on my 2011). I'm a programmer and typing all day long, so that a great perk for me (as long as it won't break lol).
Screen - not even comparable.
Touchpad - lightyears better then my 2011.
Ports - Never use them.

The thing is blasting fast, light, thin and has great battery time.

I just wanted to share my experience going from an old 2011 15 inch machine. I think just about everything is way better, of course, some aspects is personal. I don't know what to say about the Touch Bar just yet, but it might be useful.

You guys sitting on old machines afraid of pulling the trigger, don't be. It's such a huge upgrade. I understand that some of you need more ports then I do etc, but I generally feel that this thing getting too much hate. Again, it's a huge upgrade from older models.

SigmundJake229

macrumors newbie
Feb 2, 2013
Iowa
Appreciate the review! Still in the research stage but upgrading from 2011 15” MBP too. I get confused by the different processors and speeds. I know I want to upgrade my ram and HD though.

Thornblom

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 4, 2011
Appreciate the review! Still in the research stage but upgrading from 2011 15” MBP too. I get confused by the different processors and speeds. I know I want to upgrade my ram and HD though.

Everything will be a huge upgrade from what you have. The base processor in the 15 inch model is really powerful with its six cores and hyper threading, this last gen also got a bump up in cache, with is great.
The operating speed of the current SSDs and RAM is also way better then what you have in yours.