Going back to 1.1.2

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by cbrain, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm going to be going back 1.1.2 Jailbroken until the SDK comes out, but when that happens, I'll go back to 1.1.3.

    When I go back to 1.1.3, will my purchased apps come back aswell? Or will I have to buy them again?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #2
    If your planning on downgrading you might as well jailbreak to 1.1.3.
     
  3. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #3
    Hi,

    I tried downgrading to 1.1.1 using iTunes 7.6, but I got an Error 1. What should I do to downgrade?

    Thanks.
     
  4. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    using iTune 7.6 that was your mistake lol unistall that and install iTunes 7.5 and then restore to 1.1.1 ;)
     
  5. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #5
    Wrong. You don't need 7.5 (that is a myth). Do this instead:

    Connect iPod to computer
    Open iTunes and let the iPod finish syncing
    Go to the home screen on your iPod
    Hold Power and Home buttons
    When the iPod disappears from iTunes, let go of Power but, keep holding home
    Hold home until the iPod appears in iTunes again
    Click "Ok"
    Option-Click Restore and choose the 1.1.1 ipsw file.

    Done. This works in 7.6 because I've done it about 4 times now.
     
  6. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #6
    Before I do this, when I go back to 1.1.3 will my "January Update" that I bought sync back?

    Thanks.
     
  7. Xenn0X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    yeah it will. i had 1.1.3 original with apps. then jailbreaked and synced back on my pod. itunes also sees it as 1.1.3 with january update.
    as long as you sync it on the pc were you bought the app pack on. had some issue's with that only :)
     
  8. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #8
    It didn't seem to work.

    iTunes came back with: "The iPod "iPod" could be restored. An unknown error occurred (1)."
     
  9. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #9
    Then you must have done something wrong during the process because it works for everyone else. Make sure you are option-clicking RESTORE and not UPDATE. Also, maybe you should try it in iTunes 7.6 because that's the version I did mine in. This method does work, so you're definitely doing something wrong because you don't have a different iPod touch than everybody else.
     
  10. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #10
    I am using iTunes 7.6 and I am doing everything you said. I am alt-clicking Restore but it's still not working.
     
  11. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #11
    If you're on a PC, you must shift-click restore. I assumed you were using a Mac because you're on a Mac Forum.
     
  12. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #12
    I am on a Mac.
     
  13. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
  14. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #14
    I've found out that I shouldn't have any problems if I downgrade my iTunes to 7.5. I also found out that 7.6 brakes OctoPrep. Before I downgrade I need to find where the January Update pack is so I can back it up. Does anyone know where it is? I've tried searching through spotlight.
     
  15. hecks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #15
    iTunes 7.6 doesn't break OktoPrep, that's just speculation and is contrary to many other peoples' experiences. I've also done the 1.1.3 jailbreak many times on 7.6 without any problems. Make sure you're selecting the right firmware when you restore to 1.1.1, set up as new iPod, follow the instructions precisely.
     
  16. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #16
    I am defiantly selecting 1.1.1.
     
  17. cbrain thread starter macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #17
    Hi,

    It turned out I was putting my device into restore mode incorrectly. I was doing it the way which brings up the "Cable to iTunes" picture.

    Thanks for all your help! :)
     
  18. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #18
    You said you did it exactly like I said! Guess not huh?
     

Share This Page